Daily Run: Longer Than Intended Part II

August 31, 2008 at 11:29 am | Posted in Daily Run | Leave a comment

Time of Day: 8:35 AM

Weather: Hotttttt

Duration: 67 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 8:00/mile): 8.38 miles.

Notes: The thing about running in an unfamiliar city is that you have no idea how long it takes to get places. I didn’t get lost today, but accidentally meandered through parks for much longer than my legs wanted. I did the ‘ol ice bath after yesterday’s run, and my legs were sluggy yet still functional. I didn’t go fast for a second, which I took into consideration in estimating today’s mileage.

I often debate with myself on weekends: do I A) get up early and run before the weather gets steamy, or B) let myself catch up on sleep a little and suck it up in the heat later. Today I went with Option B. Yay for unintentionally long runs in the Houston sun!

A marathon is still slightly longer than my mileage over the course of the entire weekend. I can do this.

Tomorrow is a day off, probably not even weights. This coming week is also my reduced mileage week. I feel like I just did one of those! Time flies!

I’ve heard some negative things about Houston in the past, and I’m happy to say that I have not experienced these things yet. I’m having a great Labor Day Weekend. Hope you are too.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

