Food for Fuel: Labor Day Weekend

September 2, 2008 at 9:08 pm | Posted in Food, Restaurants | 1 Comment

Without further ado, I present the Labor Day Weekend Fuel:

Saturday Night and Leftovers

MSB and I both love Greek food. In fact, I crave it on a regular basis. So, Nico Nico’s Greek American Cafe was an easy choice for Saturday night’s dinner. It was very crowded, and we found out why when we saw the impressive menu and tasted the food!

I started with a very large side salad. Sorry, this picture was taken after both of us had a few bites. You can still see most of that big chunk of feta, which was the highlight. Unfortunately, the salad came with the dressing already on it and made the bottom parts all soggy, so I left a lot of the lettuce on the bottom. This is why I always get my dressing on the side.

It really didn’t matter that I couldn’t finish the salad, because by the time I got to the soggy bits my Combination Meal with a mix of gyro meat and souvlaki was ready. I also ate some of this before taking the picture. (Hungry!) This would have come with a huge pile of rice, but I substituted the salad. There was also a little dolma–not sure if you can see it on there. There was a lot of meat under those red onions and tzatziki sauce, so…

I made it into an awesome broiled sandwich for lunch on Sunday. I broiled the meat, bread, and tomatoes and added Romaine lettuce later. Perfect.

Sunday Dinner

On Sunday, we went to MSB’s parent’s house for dinner. I love their food! They make so many side dishes. We had baked chicken, green beans, new potatoes, beans and tomatoes, and squash and onions. Not pictured were homemade biscuits straight from the oven and black-bottomed cupcakes. I think I’d rather eat at their house than most restaurants.

Monday Lunch

We wrapped up the three-day weekend with Freebirds because I had a buy-one-get-one free coupon. I got the Bird Bowl with no tortilla, a small amount of rice, black beans, steak, and all the veggie toppings. I got several kinds of salsa, guacamole, and hot salsa on the side.

So many different flavors in that bowl and over the course of the weekend!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Niko Niko’s is the SHIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

