Food for Fuel: Mediterranean Eggplant Boat with Shrimp and Quinoa

September 3, 2008 at 9:33 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains, Seafood | 4 Comments

Christie has come up with a fun little challenge: each week someone will come up with an ingredient or recipe and those who wish to will create their own meal with it. This week’s ingredient is quinoa. I love quinoa and already had some in the pantry. Great ingredient, Christie!

I found this recipe online quite a while ago and had yet to use it, so I decided to steal the flavors from it and make it into a quinoa salad with shrimp. But then I thought, “Jess, what vegetable do you have in the crisper that is just begging to be stuffed with quinoa salad and covered in cheese?” Eggplant!

So, I split an eggplant in half and scooped out the flesh of one of the halves. I heated up the flesh in a skillet with some frozen shrimp. I cooked 1/4 cup Red Incan quinoa and used unmeasured amounts of all of the vegetables in the linked recipe, except for the cucumber. I added basil and mushrooms. I also used unmeasured amounts of dried parsley, oregano, black pepper, and lemon juice. I mixed together the shrimp and eggplant shrimp, salad ingredients, and quinoa.

I piled as much of the mixture as possible into the scooped out eggplant half. It didn’t even come close to fitting in, so I saved the rest to serve on the side. I topped the eggplant boat with a little asiago and shredded Italian blend cheese. Baked at 350* for about 25 minutes.

It was great! And the quinoa salad by itself would be a great meal too.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 12 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Eggplant
  • Mushrooms
  • Olives
  • Onions
  • Tomatoes
  • Shrimp
  • Low-fat cheese (Feta and Italian blend, not Asiago)
  • Quinoa
  • Basil
  • Oregano
  • Parsley
  • Lemon

In addition, check out the black-bottomed cupcakes that MSB’s mom “made” me take home.

I have three (well, two now). These are so good they don’t even need frosting. And I like frosting. A lot. That’s cream cheese in the center, if you’re wondering.

Black-bottomed cupcakes are not on the World’s Healthiest Foods list.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looks great! Quinoa makes the perfect stuffing. So good.

  2. Awesome recipe and so excited you made something.. I love this whole idea it really makes you HAVE to try new things hahah

  3. I also have some eggplants that NEED to be used. Luckily they seem to last a little longer in the fridge than some other veggies. What a good idea.

    Those cupcakes look like a TREAT. Hey, you’d already hit 12 of the whfoods, right?

  4. […] Last week I totally dropped the ball and forgot to include a nutrition fact about the secret ingredient. So, here’s something I didn’t know about tomatoes: Organic ketchup contains 3 times as much lycopene as non-organic brands. […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

