Daily Run: Better

September 4, 2008 at 8:59 pm | Posted in Daily Run, Strength Training, Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: Gorgeous. Much cooler weather and a brilliant starry sky.

Duration: 45 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 5.93 miles.

Notes: My run was better today. I’m still stuffy and it was a little difficult to breathe, but my legs are starting to feel better and my body was less achy in general. This was a nice, medium-paced run. I don’t think I will let myself go very fast this week.

I think the temperature actually fell below 70* last night and stayed that way during my run. I was pleasantly shocked upon exiting my house this morning. After finishing my run, I went back into the house and it was actually warmer than outside. And then I realized that I wasn’t dripping sweat everywhere. Fall? Already!? WHAT IS GOING ON!?

By the way, here’s an interesting article about overtraining (source: NY Times).

Strength Training

I did my usual after-work strength training session of upper body and core exercises. It took about 40 minutes. I did 2 sets of 15 reps of the following arm exercises:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Shoulder press
  • Vertical butterfly
  • Chest press
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep dips/extensions

And:

  • 30 inclined sit-ups holding a 6-lb. medicine ball
  • Home therapy exercises
  • Core workout (linked in side bar). I’m in week 1 of the Dynamic Phase.

The annoying thing about Thursday afternoons at my gym is there is nowhere to work out. That’s right, no where to work out at a freaking GYM. Unless, of course, I stick with the Cybex machines or can find a spot in the roughly one square meter of floor space in the free weights area. There’s a nice, big aerobics room where I would love to do my core exercises, but it always has a class. I have to drag a mat into the hallway and block the fire exit.

Oh well, it’s ridiculously cheap.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. praying for fall and cooler temps up in herre.

    then I might actually (GASP) run.

  2. Glad you’re beginning to feel better! Great link, too.

    I am getting better at the Swiss Hip Extension but still am not exactly smooth with it. The other core exercises are not too bad, but I do seem to have a very weak lower back, which I didn’t expect.

  3. do you wear a watch when you run.. I noticed you are very consistent with your pace which is great!

  4. MizFit: We’re getting those cooler temps in the morning, but then it goes up 30 degrees during the day!

    tfh: The Swiss Hip Extension is hard, but I think it’s improving my balance.

    Christie: I do wear a watch. The pace I use for calculating the distance is really just an average. I don’t know my true pace each time. Sometimes I will do a little test if the trail has markers to see if I’m still on pace.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

