Daily Run: No Sunrise for Me

September 5, 2008 at 11:22 am | Posted in Daily Run | 2 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: The weather is still gorgeous here. However, the difference between the low and high for the day is about 30 degrees.

Duration: 36 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 4.75 miles.

Notes: I hate these short runs for the following reasons:

A) By the time my cold medicine kicked in and I could actually breathe, I was almost done running.

B) The entire run occurred in the dark and I missed getting to see the sunrise.

C) I feel like stretching and rolling out before and after the run takes more time than the run itself.

But…

A) I had time to stop at the post office before work this morning and even got to work early.

B) Maybe my legs will feel better tomorrow? They feel weird right now.

I may need new shoes already, although it seems early. How do you decide if you need new shoes?

I’m going to do a long run tomorrow, despite this being the reduced mileage week. Since I’m home this weekend instead of in Houston, I feel compelled to take advantage of my comfortably familiar running trail with its BATHROOMS and WATER FOUNTAINS. So, I’m going to try to do the 16 miles that I was supposed to do last weekend (ended up going 17.5 at least). Thus, I am still reducing slightly. And I can’t believe that I am reducing to 16 miles.

I need to kick this cold to the curb. I feel fine during the day, but then it gets worse at night and breathing during my morning run feels difficult.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sounds like it’s cooling off all over Texas! It was much cooler this morning on my run as well and felt GREAT! Somehow I have a feeling we haven’t seen the end of the hot/humid days though…

    I just bought new shoes last weekend…mine were waaaaay too old. They were starting to give me slight shin splints and I knew they were just too old so I finally gave in and got new ones. And I’m loving them so far, by the way 😉
    How many miles have you run in yours? I think you’re supposed to replace them every 500 miles or so? As much as you run that probably wouldn’t take you too long!

    Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  2. I admit, I usually get new shoes after I can see the wear on the soles and they no longer sit evenly on the floor. Bad runner. Have a great long run tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

