Food for Fuel: Molly Huddle’s Eggplant Parmesan

September 5, 2008 at 9:13 pm | Posted in Food, From The Runner's Cookbook, Literature, Nutrition, Pasta, Vegetarian Entrees | 2 Comments

Have you missed recipes from The Runner’s Cookbook? I know I have, especially after reminding myself how simple yet good some are.

Tonight I made Molly Huddle’s Eggplant Parmesan. Molly Huddle ran high school cross-country in New York State at the same time as me. I remember seeing her finishing times and being in utter awe. She went on to run for Notre Dame (as an All-American), represented the U.S. in the 2008 World Cross Country Championships, and now runs professionally for Saucony.

Her Eggplant Parmesan recipe is nice and simple. She recommends Paul Newman’s spaghetti sauce; I used my favorite. I discovered that the old breadcrumbs in my pantry contain trans fat (gasp!), so I decided to try using wheat bran. It didn’t really form a crust on the eggplant, but in my opinion, no breading was needed.

I also added sliced mushrooms, tomatoes, and garlic-stuffed olives. I used fat-free mozzarella, but regular parmesan.

Baked for about 27 minutes at 350*. Here it is all nice and bubbly.

And here it is served on a bed of whole wheat penne, spaghetti squash, and baby spinach.

It was great! Huddle says that the leftovers are great in a sub sandwich. That sounds amazing, Ms. Huddle, but I had to eat it all tonight!

Note: I’ve heard from several sources that salting the eggplant slices and letting them sit for 30+ minutes leads to a better flavor (rinse the salt when finished). I had plenty of time tonight, so I added that additional step. I’m not sure if it enhanced the flavor, but it did draw some of the water out, which will keep the eggplant from getting mushy when sauteed and baked.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 10 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list (not including additional ingredients in jarred sauce):

  • Eggplant
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Tomatoes
  • Olives
  • Olive oil
  • Spinach
  • Whole wheat
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Egg
2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. BORDERS is not on my good list right now because they STILL have not called me with the book… I might have to go up there again.. i am dying to make these recipes!

  2. Sound like a really nice eggplant parmesan recipe. I’ll try it and let you know.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

