Food for Fuel: Whole Wheat Beer Bread

September 6, 2008 at 9:02 pm | Posted in Baked Goods, Food | 2 Comments

I ran out of Ezekiel English Muffins today and thus had no bread (except for one Flat Out Wrap, which I was…not in the mood for). I also had just one Shiner left in the fridge. So, with ample time on my hands and no idea what to make for dinner, I decided to try the whole wheat beer bread recipe that I’ve been hanging onto since I found it.

I love beer bread and have never made it with wheat flour before. It’s not a 100% whole wheat recipe, but it’s one step closer to being healthy than my usual beer bread recipe. I happened to have bread flour in the pantry, so I used that instead of all-purpose.

It turned out wonderfully and I had a bunch of it for dinner with some canned soup and salad. The Shiner added a delicious flavor, which is not a surprise as it is my reasonably-priced beer of choice. My old recipe uses granulated sugar instead of brown sugar, and I really liked this brown sugar flavor with the wheat. It might be interesting to try honey or molasses.

A nice aspect of beer bread, besides its complete simplicity, is that it is very customizable. The flavor varies depending on the beer. You can also add in nuts, seeds, dried fruit, or chocolate chips. Chocolate chip beer bread makes a delicious and easy dessert.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. recipe on that?

  2. bamarunner: It’s linked in the first paragraph of the post. It’s from allrecipes.com. Try it and let me know if you love it as much as I do!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

