Food for Fuel: Wheat Berries with Vegetables and Chicken

September 8, 2008 at 10:04 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Poultry, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains | 4 Comments

Tonight was my first time to both prepare and consume wheat berries. They were delicious, which is great because they are very healthy, and well…I have a lot of them now.

I used a sidedish recipe from Martha Stewart and turned it into a one-bowl meal by adding chicken breast for some protein. I also added kalamata olives, mushrooms, a wedge of Laughing Cow cheese in Garlic & Herb, and a little freshly grated parmesan. The Laughing Cow cheese turned the bowl all creamy and delicious. It reminded me of risotto. I simplified the recipe a little by using frozen broccoli and dried oregano.

Blogger Secret Ingredient: Tomatoes

Heather did the honors this week, and nominated tomatoes as the secret ingredient. I was going to do a dish using fresh tomatoes, but my wheat berry meal had tons of Del Monte Diced Tomatoes that added great flavor. I use Del Monte because they have a good No Salt Added line of canned tomato products and I almost always have some in the pantry. I use tomatoes a lot, so you may see another tomato recipe from me this week.

Last week I totally dropped the ball and forgot to include a nutrition fact about the secret ingredient. So, here’s something I didn’t know about tomatoes:

Organic ketchup contains 3 times as much lycopene as non-organic brands.

And…

Eat your tomatoes with fat; lycopene is fat-soluble, which means that it is not well-absorbed without fat. Source

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 13 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Tomatoes
  • Broccoli
  • Eggplant
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Olives
  • Chicken
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Summer squash
  • Olive oil
  • Whole wheat
  • Oregano
4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This looks so good! I always buy no sodium added tomatoes. I wonder if you could use some fresh tomatoes, too?

    Heather

  2. Wheatberries are great! I love the texture. Adding cheese makes it somewhat risotto-like? I’ll have to try it.

  3. Heather: You could definitely use fresh tomatoes in this. I chose to save mine for another day 🙂

    tfh: I loved the texture too! And yes, the Laughing Cow cheese was brilliant in this.

  4. holy geez, that packs some punch 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

