Strength Day: Bikini Season is Over

September 8, 2008 at 11:50 am | Posted in Strength Training | 2 Comments

Time of Day: 5:30 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: About an hour, split up with driving time

Notes: The weather was much more humid and nasty this morning, and when I left for the gym I was grateful that I wouldn’t be wasting a nice running day by exercising indoors. I couldn’t believe how empty the gym was today. I guess bikini season is officially over and it’s a long time until those New Year’s Resolutions begin.

Here’s what I did:

Got up, did part of the Ultimate Ab Workout for Runners (linked in sidebar) at home. I’m in week 2 of the Dynamic Phase and did the Turkish Getup and the Double Leg Hops because I don’t need gym equipment for those. I also did Pods.

I got to the gym before it was open and did some tricep dips on the bench outside. I stretched while the guy working there took his sweet time unlocking the doors.

Then I did my usual 3 sets of 15 reps of the following (except just 2 sets for the triceps because of the bench dips):

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Shoulder press
  • Chest press
  • Vertical butterfly
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep dips or extensions
  • I alternate between those exercises to give myself minimal rest and to help get my heart rate up. I also alternate in:

    • 2 sets of 30 reps of inclined sit-ups holding a 6 lb. medicine ball
    • 25 reps of back extension
    • The other core exercises in the Ultimate Abs workout
    • Hip Hikes

    And now I’m sitting at my desk getting sore. Especially my biceps and around my neck.

    Weights just don’t satisfy me like running. Oh well, the legs need their day off and I can be as satisfied as I want tomorrow.

    2 Comments »

    RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

    1. I feel the same way about weights vs. running. I also am thrilled when the weather is bad on my non-running days– makes it easier.

      b.t.w. why wouldn’t you hurry to open the gym if you saw someone doing triceps dips and waiting to get in? I am guessing that guy was a passive-aggressive non-athlete.

    2. Are you telling me I can’t weart my bikini anymore? Crap.


    Leave a Reply

        Blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

