Daily Run: Drinking the Air

September 10, 2008 at 9:57 am | Posted in Daily Run | 2 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: Armpit-like

Duration: 55 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 7.25 miles.

Notes: We had a storm last night, which is nice because I don’t have to water the grass today and thus I feel like I checked a chore off the list before I even got up (sweet!). However, the storm passed and left all it’s nasty mugginess hanging in a giant cloud over Central Texas, and especially directly over every morning runner in the area.

Seems like, oh, just last week when I was thinking about how amazingly cool and perfect the weather was for this time of year. And bouncing along on my comfortable run, ponytail swinging, cute running shirt staying moderately fresh, finishing my run looking as if I’m just a jogger, skin glistening with a miniscule amount of sweat…or is that pixie dust?

But Autumn is over, Winter has been skipped this year….annnddd…we’re back to Grossness. But at least I can drink the air while I run. It’s very hydrating, you know. And I get to finish with stares from the neighbors, who are wondering why I went swimming in running shorts instead of a swimsuit. Or maybe I just ran through their sprinklers, in which case they will certainly turn it off so that the weird runner girl stays out of their yard!

Complaining aside, I have a confession to make: I like getting all sweaty and nasty during a run. I barely even notice it anymore until I’m done, and then…well…I’m done running, so I’m awesome. The sweat makes me feel accomplished, like I had a better workout just because it was hot outside, as if that really matters. I get in the shower and feel like I truly earned it. And that shower feels sooo good.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i like a good sweat too. Although this mornings run at 5:45 was cool with zero humidity. I can’t say i didn’t enjoy it. Plus, it was still dark out and the moon and stars were beautiful. I love the early hours of the morning. It’s almost like you’re getting extra time from the day before. Plus, I get that wonderful feeling of superiority being up and logging miles while the rest of the world is asleep. but i’ll quit rambling, i’m sure you know what i’m talking about.
    ps. Greek food…yum!

  2. I love that feeling of superiority. I’m all “Ha! I just got more exercise before 7 AM than most Americans will all week!”


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

