Daily Run: Finding Something Special

September 11, 2008 at 4:07 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 2 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: Still warm and muggy, but slightly less so.

Duration: 1 hour

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 7.91 miles.

Notes: I had a wonderful run today. I was fast and strong, pushed up some hills, and even extended my time a little. I ran well enough that my legs are now tired and stiff when I get up and walk around, and this feels much less like painful soreness and much more like Accomplishment.

Even with wonderful runs though, there’s just so much you can write about and not be totally boring. I think that every run is special, if for no other reason than that I can actually do it. However, not every run is going to lead to new training observations, a personal breakthrough in speed or distance, or living nightmares. So while I attempt to keep things interesting with the occasional celebrity appearance, sometimes I just really don’t have much to say. 

However boring it may be for you to read, writing about each and every run really helps me. It allows me to reflect on my training and progress, keep up with my goals, and remember the little things that struck me as significant at the time–things that I would forget otherwise.

And blogging about running is incredibly motivating. Do I want to get on here and write Daily Run: Skipped It? No, that’s the last thing I want to admit. Which I believe is why creating a running blog is at the top of this list.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love reading about other’s runs! It is so motivating for me. I am not one who can get up early, go to my gym (which doesn’t have a shower), and then go to school to teach. Your blog helps me to get motivated to run after school. Please keep it up!

  2. Thanks run4life! I used to work at a school and I had to run afterwards too. Hope it’s working out for you.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

