Strength Training and Bad News for Jess

September 11, 2008 at 10:08 pm | Posted in Strength Training | 6 Comments

I was really, really tired in the afternoon and really, really did not want to go do my strength training. But I did anyway and felt so much better about five minutes into my workout. Seriously, I wish I had that kind of boost available in a can. However, today felt harder, even though I didn’t do anything differently. Maybe it’s just a general, overall body fatigue.

I did 2 sets of 15 reps of the following arm exercises:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Shoulder press
  • Vertical butterfly
  • Chest press
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep dips/extensions

And:

  • 30 inclined sit-ups holding a 6-lb. medicine ball
  • Home therapy exercises
  • Ultimate Abs core workout (linked in side bar). I’m in week 2 of the Dynamic Phase.

And the bad news…

Yesterday I got a package in the mail. That’s not the bad news–the package was awesome (thanks Mom and Dad!). The bad news is that as I was taking pictures of the awesome contents of said package…MY CAMERA BROKE! It keeps saying that the batteries are dead, although there is no way that the two pairs of batteries that I tried in it are dead. So, you do not get to see pictures of my Cadbury chocolates, German waffle cookies, or Italian glass decoration. Nor do you get to see pictures of the extra yummy dinners that I made last night and tonight. I’m so sad.

But there’s a silver lining: I get to buy a new camera. Which I have been wanting for a while anyway. Hopefully I will get one this weekend. So exciting! Anyone have camera recommendations?

Last night I made Chicken Fajita Pizza from my Best of the Pillsbury Bake-Off cookbook. It’s also on their website, so I thought I would at least point you to a very yummy recipe. I used my whole wheat pizza crust.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. uhoh
    do we need to have a funds drive for a new camera?
    you taking donations now?:)

    I left you a bunch food thoughts/suggestions in yesterdays comments…for minimeals.

  2. I don’t know anything about cameras, but have fun shopping! And hey, you won’t be able to eat everything in the package before you get the new camera, right?

    Nice job doing strength work despite exhaustion.

  3. Thanks, MizFit. Will head on over soon 🙂
    A funds drive would rock, by the way.
    tfh: You underestimate my German waffle cookie eating ability 😉

  4. Hi Jess,
    I’ve been reading on and off for a few weeks now. I enjoy reading about your training (I love to run also, and am learning a lot from your dedication) and I’m also living vicariously through you because I moved from Austin in May after living there for 5 years and it is just the best place on earth.
    My question- what kinds of things do you eat for breakfast after these morning runs? Do you have a snack first, and how quickly after you finish do you eat… and do you think this is important? I’m just curious because I don’t see you post much about your breakfasts, but I assume that’s because you don’t have time.

  5. Welcome, imissaustin! It’s a great running city, isn’t it?
    Unfortunately, I usually only have time for cereal and fruit on weekday mornings. Oatmeal if I’m feeling fancy and have a few extra minutes. I don’t like to eat all sweaty, so I wait until after I’ve showered, which is also not until I’ve stretched, rehydrated, etc. It’s usually 45 minutes or so after. Ideally, it would be less than 30 minutes.
    I usually only have a snack before my long runs. Some people need some fuel beforehand, but I do fine without it so I don’t like to take the extra time in the morning to eat before my run.
    I hope I’ve answered your questions. If not, please let me know and I will elaborate.

  6. It’s a good thing your camera is broken, because there’s no force on earth that could keep me from visiting you to “politely chat” (i.e. talk whilst I scan your kitchen for delicious foreign chocolate.) 😀


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

