Food for Fuel: Hendrick Ramaala’s Chicken Pilaf

September 12, 2008 at 8:05 pm | Posted in Food, From The Runner's Cookbook, Literature, Nutrition, Poultry, Product Review, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains | 3 Comments

I’m so excited; I got a great deal on a camera just in time to show you a delicious recipe from The Runner’s Cookbook! More on my awesome deal soon.

Hendrick Ramaala won the New York City Marathon in 2004 and silver medals in both the 1998 and 1999 World Half Marathon Championships. He is a two-time national champion 5,000 meter runner (in South Africa).

And his recipe is one of the simplest and best that I’ve made from this cookbook. Of course, I can’t provide you with the recipe for copyright reasons, but if you have the book, it may be helpful to know that I didn’t use the carrots, and that I added mushrooms, zucchini, wheatberries, and kalamata olives. I also did not have chicken stock, but I don’t think it was necessary anyway. I also added the “optional” feta, because I don’t see feta as ever being optional.

I had some asparagus to use up, so I roasted it an spread it with Smart Balance Light and balsamic vinegar.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 12 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Asparagus
  • Bell pepper
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Olives
  • Summer squash
  • Onion
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Chicken
  • Brown rice
  • Whole wheat
  • Soy sauce

Super Target is Super Amazing

There’s a brand spanking new Super Target on my way home from work. It’s huge. And wonderful. And the employees suck, but whatever, I can find my own stuff with enough searching.

After some internet research, I decided on this camera. Ten megapixels for that price? Umm..yes! Ten megapixels for CHEAPER and ON SALE Target price?! And in Wasabi Green?! I like wasabi!

So that’s my new camera. And I’m very happy so far, even though I haven’t done much playing with it, so the pictures I’ve taken were just taken on the auto setting and didn’t go through much editing.

But that is not the end of the saga that is the Target Deal. They also had a sale on Kashi products. Four Kashi products for $11, a deal in itself, BUT then you also get a $5 gift card. Whaaaa!?

I also got some interesting Indian food products (on sale), smoked salmon (sale), and blueberries (sale!).

Obviously excited enough about my new camera and Kashi deal to take a picture. My four Kashi products were cereal (Heart to Heart), crackers (Original 7 Grain), Tasty Little Chewy bars (Honey Almond Flax), and a new rice pilaf that I’ve never tried.

So get thee to Target. I think the Kashi deal ends tomorrow.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I had heard rumors of this Kashi deal at Super Target. I should’ve made my way there! Won’t be able to go tomorrow because, due to Ike, I’m sure it won’t be open. And even if it was I’m sure it’s extremely picked over from people stocking up for the hurricane.
    Sounds like you’re safe and sound far enough away…stay safe! And I hope MSB is safe in Houston (if he stayed)!

  2. MSB is indeed safe, thanks for your concern. I hope you are safe as well! (Which I am assuming, since you commented)

  3. […] on half of the meal, using a product from Kitchens of India that I found at Super Target during the Great Super Target Deal of 2008. It’s called Rajma Masala; a mildly spicy kidney bean dish that comes in a pouch. I heated it […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

