Food for Fuel: Chicken Ratatouille Pizza

September 14, 2008 at 8:21 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pizza, Poultry, Vegetable Side Dishes | 5 Comments

I just had an amazing meal, and you must forgive any typos because I also had an amazing cocktail and have no tolerance (chardonnay mixed with Diet Cherry 7 Up. Try it).

Ratatouille is one of my favorite vegetable side dishes. However, one rarely has so many vegetables lying around, but I had an eggplant and was going grocery shopping anyway, so I put all the necessary ingredients on the list and got ready to go to Veggie Heaven.

I based my ratatouille on this recipe. In the past, I have also used this one, and it is also delicious, but I did not feel like buying the salad dressing. Anyway, I used the canned Del Monte tomatoes with garlic, basil, and oregano to enhance the flavor of the dish. In addition to the eggplant, zucchini, and onion, I used about 4 oz. of mushrooms and half of a large red bell pepper.

Ratatouille takes a lot of chopping time, as well as some time in the skillet and then the oven. However, I will probably use the leftovers at least three times this week, so it’s worth the up-front effort.

This dish is wonderful with cheese on top, and I usually include it. This time, however, I left it off and will add cheese as I use the leftovers. Ratatouille is wonderful as a side dish, over pasta, and especially…

On pizza.

While the ratatouille (so hard to spell, by the way) was in the oven, I topped my whole wheat pizza crust (1/3 of the recipe) with fresh basil, cooked chicken breast, and chopped kalamata olives. When the ratatouille came out of the oven, I scooped a bunch onto the pizza and covered it with a blend of bagged 2% Italian blend cheese, bagged fat-free mozzarella, and freshly grated parmesan (gotta have some of the good stuff). I baked it at 350* for about 20 minutes and then turned it up to 450* for a few more. It was wonderful and well worth the time spent making the ratatouille.

Just a note on the pizza crust: I haven’t been pre-baking the crust, but I suggest you do if your pizza has any liquid ingredients. I tried lowering the baking temperature to 350* this time because of the diced tomatoes, but I think the crust would have been better if I had pre-baked it for a few minutes before topping.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 12 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods List:

  • Bell peppers
  • Eggplant
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Olives
  • Onions
  • Tomatoes
  • Summer squash
  • Chicken
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Whole wheat
  • Basil


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That cocktail sounds very good to me. Great job with the long run this weekend– and I’m happy you got a new camera. Now I just need to figure out where the closest Super Target is…

  2. […] it with a wedge of Laughing Cow cheese and green onions. I served the salmon fillet on leftover ratatouille.  Now I have both leftover ratatouille and cabbage. Guess I won’t have to make any side […]

  3. […] Chicken Ratatouille Pizza […]

  4. Yes, this definitely should count as a submission. The pizza looks great!!

  5. What a great idea to put that on a pizza! Yummo!

Leave a Reply

Blog at | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

