Food for Fun: My Version of Heidi Swanson’s Banana Chip Cookies

September 15, 2008 at 9:30 pm | Posted in Baked Goods, Food | 4 Comments

I lay low on Saturday night-I was tired, cranky, and my stomache hurt. Luckily, I have a panacea: baking cookies. I had some banana chips in the pantry that I bought for making MSB baked oatmeal snackbars (he asked what the “squishy things” were after eating the bars. I consider it a mixed review). So, I turned to a recipe that I’ve been wanting to try ever since looking at Heidi Swanson’s picture of the dough on her website.

I also had two bananas on their last legs, and decided that while one might still taste fine the next day, the other one would not. So, I added it to the cookie dough. I did not have any walnuts, so I omitted these and added some extra chocolate chips (which I like better than nuts anyway). I didn’t have eggs, but did have a carton of egg whites, and using all whites worked just fine. I used dark brown sugar.

Interestingly, I did have whole wheat pastry flour, wheat germ, and sea salt in the pantry. Weirdo. Anyway, these are so good. They are fairly nutritious, as far as cookies go, but they don’t taste like it at all. They taste absolutely sinful. And the smell. I can’t go on enough about the smell. I want to bottle the smell of these cookies and use it as body wash, perfume, air freshener, laundry detergent…I think I like them even better than the last banana cookies I made, which is saying a lot.

In order to keep myself from cookie overload, and trust me, these will cause an overload, I halved the recipe and just baked a few cookies. I formed the rest of the dough into cookie-sized balls, put them on a paper plate, covered them in plastic wrap, and stuck them in the freezer. That way I can bake up a fresh cookie or two or ten whenever I please.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. wow, sounds like a wonderful cookie…i have everything but the wheat germ…but get some!

  2. Oh my gosh.

    I want that dough.

    And yes, I know it’s not even lunchtime.

  3. Good idea freezing the dough!

  4. […] Baking Mood struck. This is a Bad Jess, as baking cuts into studying time and I still have frozen Banana Chip Cookie dough. I blame the Baking Mood on a combination of things: 1) work is slow right now and […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

