Strength Training and Surprise MSB Visit

September 18, 2008 at 7:23 pm | Posted in Strength Training | 7 Comments

Time of Day: 5:15 PM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: About 45 min.

Notes: MSB will be here soon! He decided to come up for the weekend just a few hours ago. Fine with me! Anyway, must type up my workout quickly. Usual upper body and core workout, which I may or may not be copying and pasting *shifty eyes*.

I did 2 sets of 15 reps of the following arm exercises:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Shoulder press
  • Vertical butterfly
  • Chest press
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep dips/extensions

And:

  • 30 inclined sit-ups holding a 6-lb. medicine ball
  • Home therapy exercises
  • Ultimate Abs core workout (linked in side bar). I’m in week 3 of the Dynamic Phase.

I should really shake things up with this workout, but it’s continuing to be effective.  Hmmm…What are your favorite upper body exercises?

MSB are probably going out to eat. I planned on doing my Blogger Secret Ingredient recipe tonight, but oh well. Maybe I’ll have mushrooms at the restaurant 🙂

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love lat rows and tricep extensions!

  2. Can’t wait to see if you have mushrooms 🙂 I’m dying for more blogger secret ingredient posts!

  3. Hey, Just wanted to say thanks for your comments on the competition/insecurity stuff on my blog. I really identified with a lot of what you said.

    My arms and upper body is so weak, so I will not pretend to be buff. I like yoga. 😀

  4. I’m honored! (previous post) Hope you enjoy the weekend visit. My favorite/most dreaded upper body move is pushups with my feet on the stability ball. I hate it. But at least when it’s over I feel I’ve worked a lot of upper body and core muscles.

  5. Girl on Top: Those are also my favorite arm exercises. I feel like I get the best effects from those. I continue to suck at both shoulder presses and bicep curls, even though I’ve been doing them forever.
    Rose: No mushrooms last night! I so wanted to showcase my recipe too, so darn it!
    Hangry Pants: I aspire to like yoga, but for some reason just don’t. I’m glad you liked my comment and I think you touched on a very interesting issue.
    tfh: That is definitely a hard exercise. Push-ups are my on-vacation-can’t-find-a-gym go-to arm exercise.

  6. i loooove upper body weights. i need to figure out what all my excerises are called so i can pass them along!

  7. I feel so honored that you listed my blog!
    I have so many fav upper body exercises
    I love shoulder press and I think push ups and dips (which I vary the form) are 2 of the best toning exercises for all women.
    I hate training biceps and love tricpes… i also love doing free motion machine for front raises and side raises! Ohh and assisted pull ups… can you tell i love to exercise hahah


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

