Food for Fuel: Weekend Highlights and Secret Ingredient

September 21, 2008 at 8:50 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Restaurants, Sandwiches, Wraps, and Burgers, Seafood | 7 Comments

On Friday night, MSB and I dined with friends at Trudy’s, one of the greatest Tex-Mex restaurants in Austin. I was very skeptical about going to a Mexican food restaurant the night before my long run, but I did a decent job finding something on the menu for my pre-long run meal.

Sorry about that blurry photo; we were outside in the dark. I had the Chicken and Portabella Fajitas with whole wheat tortillas. The dish had lots of bell peppers, onions, guacamole, pico de gallo, cheese, sour cream (don’t like so didn’t eat), rice (didn’t have room!), and refried beans (didn’t dare eat). Basically, for my pre-long run meal I stayed away from the beans and anything fried or greasy.

On Saturday we had tailgate food for lunch, which I ate while standing up, making it much too difficult to take a picture. Dinner was much more picture worthy: we went to Sao Paulo’s, a Brazilian restaurant that was within walking distance of the bar where we were watching the football game (and drinking too much Shiner). MSB and I were a bit full of beer, so we split an entree–a good decision because it was huge! We had the Galinhada, a Brazilian paella.

Look! It’s MSB’s SJR debut! This was a delicious meal and I hope to go back to Sao Paulo’s again when I am very, very hungry.

Blogger Secret Ingredient Lunch

Today I am back to making my own food, which is great because I finally got to use the Blogger Secret Ingredient. This week was Rose‘s turn to pick an ingredient, and she picked mushrooms, an excellent choice! I did not make the meal that I planned to make, but just did a quick portabella and smoked salmon sandwich for lunch today.

I sliced up Roma tomatoes and placed them on the portabella, added red onions and Boar’s Head Baby Swiss cheese and threw it in the oven at 425* for about 15 minutes. I placed it on an Ezekiel hamburger bun with torn basil, smoked salmon, and mixed greens. MSB looked jealous, even though he was eating leftover Trudy’s.

The mushroom is bigger than the bun.

In lieu of a WHF count, here are two interesting facts about the Blogger Secret Ingredient, mushrooms:

  • They are very high in anti-oxidants, and the body of the mushroom contains more anti-oxidants than the stalk.
  • They are rich in iron (which I did not know, cool).
7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. All your food look so yummy!

  2. I like your photo editing skills.

  3. You are wearing that shirt next week.

  4. Thanks for your healthy recipes and tips. Vegetables contribute a lot for nutritious foods.

  5. Cute photo! And GREAT job on the 20 miler this weekend. Hope the marathon-in-two-days was enough to make you happy with weightlifting instead of running today. (Is happy pushing it? Content, perhaps. Accepting.)

  6. Great job on the long run… I lvoe long runs… usually more after than during but it is such a good feeling! I bet your legs need a little rest!

    I love nike shorts for running and they usually have the littlep ockets.. but PEarl Izumi makes great shorts and fit well so check their website out!

  7. Thanks everyone!
    MSB: You made me laugh at work. Luckily, the officemate is out, because she knows our job is not that funny.
    Christie: Thanks! I’m going to look those up.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

