Strength Day: A Little Weak

September 22, 2008 at 1:06 pm | Posted in Life, Strength Training | 4 Comments

Time of Day: 5:40 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: About an hour, split up

Notes: Owwww ouch ouch owwwww. I’m sore already. I’ve been sore for several hours. I’m not sure why, but today’s strength workout felt much harder than usual. Maybe my body is just tired from the weekend, even my upper body. Hopefully my legs will at least get some rest today.

This morning, I went to my gym and did this workout. This is the Base week of my Ultimate Abs workout (I’m in Phase 2). I highly recommend the Base week exercises…if you want to sit at your desk at work and SUFFER. I blame all of my lower back stiffness on the planks and back extensions.

I’m shadowing a personal trainer after work today. This will be my fourth time shadowing, and I always leave with mixed feelings. On one hand, I can’t wait to become certified because it’s such an interesting, useful job. It might even be FUN *gasp*. On the other hand, the trainer that I am shadowing is extremely knowledgeable, and in comparison…I am so not. I know that she’s been training for years and has several certifications and I cannot expect to know nearly as much until I have been on the job for a while, but I want to be able to do my job well, so I still have much to learn. I do, however, leave shadowing with a sense that I am on the correct path to finding the best career for me, and that is very reassuring.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for the links. I’m going to try the Abs workout today.

    That’s great that you’re shadowing trainers.

  2. I really need to get more strength training into my weekly routine. After my race that will be my first goal. I bookmarked your routine, hopefully it will leave me just as sore.

    http://graduatemeghann.wordpress.com

  3. how was the shadowing??

    inspiring at all?

  4. Girl on Top and graduatemeghann: Good luck and let me know if you like it.
    MizFit: Sadly, it did not happen last night as the personal trainer needed to take care of some personal business. I’ve shadowed her before, and it is definitely inspiring.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

