Food for Fuel: Penne with Vegetables and Goat Cheese

September 23, 2008 at 9:48 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pasta, Vegetarian Entrees | 5 Comments

This dish was going to be Penne with CHICKEN, Vegetables, and Goat Cheese, but the chicken tasted a little off…ewww. The rest of it was pushed to the side of my plate and I’m hoping the part I consumed doesn’t make me sick. So far, so good.

What an appetizing way to introduce you to my dinner recipe, which is actually a yummy, healthy meal, even with a little bad chicken, I promise. Also, very quick and easy. However, I didn’t measure anything, so bear with me and just add as many of the ingredients as you want if you make this or something similar.

For tonight’s pasta creation, I prepared whole wheat penne according to the package directions. I sauteed the following in a skillet with cooking spray and a little olive oil:

  • 1 clove garlic
  • Broccoli florets
  • Zucchini
  • Mushrooms

After the veggies were soft and the penne was cooked, I removed the skillet from heat, added the penne, and added a few basil leaves, dried basil, parsley, cooked chicken, three jarred artichoke hearts, and a few scoops of goat cheese.

Yep. That’s it. How easy was that? Perfect for a weeknight.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 8 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Broccoli
  • Mushrooms
  • Garlic
  • Summer squash
  • Chicken (If it’s not bad. If it is bad, it is not on the WHF list. It may even kill you.)
  • Basil
  • Parsley
  • Whole wheat

Does anyone know if goat cheese is considered “low-fat cheese”? I’ll keep using it regardless, but I’m curious.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Goat cheese is actually better than the harder cheeses like Parm (less fat)… and the nutritionals aren’t bad, but it could be a comparison?

    But that is my kind of dish! i ❤ goat cheese 🙂

  2. yep
    echoing ttfn300.

    usually better than cows milk cheeses and varies wildly in my experience depending on the specific goat cheese.

  3. still, I’m pretty sure that goat cheese isnt a low fat cheese. Thats why its so darn good!

  4. Mmm. Glad I wouldn’t have made it with chicken anyway– that isn’t the most appetizing story, although the recipe sounds delicious! May your stomach continue feeling fine.

  5. I love goat cheese too. I will be consuming it in large amounts regardless of fat content 🙂

    tfh: Stomach is still fine!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

