Daily Run: Soldiers and Drivers

September 24, 2008 at 11:50 am | Posted in Daily Run | 3 Comments

Time of Day: 5:55 AM

Weather: Beautiful weather. Waning moon means less light, but I caught some sunrise at the end.

Duration: 1 hour

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 7.91 miles.

Notes: Yesterday’s strange twinges have miraculously vanished, but have been replaced with new ones. None of them are scaring me, but I hope my new shoes arrive before my long run on Saturday. Otherwise, I think my body may mutiny.

So you would think I would give it a break and not, say, run extra today. Or possibly avoid, say, running faster than necessary. Instead, I started out slowly and gradually got quite fast indeed, and then took a detour on the way home that added a few minutes, and then I was so darn close to a solid hour of running when I got there that I decided to go around the block. Because typing 1 hour on my blog is indubitably more satisfying than typing 58 minutes.

I had several moments of panic today. That’s “several” too many before 7 AM, by the way. The first occurred during the very darkest area of my run. I saw a group of men carrying strange packs. One was holding a lighted object, but I really couldn’t see them at all. I stopped and wondered if I was about to be attacked (sad that we have to think about this on every dark run, isn’t it?). But then I saw the uniforms: soldiers out on a training march. Lots of them, struggling up my vertical hill with big packs on their backs. The adrenalin kick from my moment of panic helped me speed past them.

Next moments involved stupid drivers. Drivers, let’s lay some ground rules:

  • Turn OFF your high beams when you see a runner. Ouch. Seriously.
  • Stop careening around corners like you own the road. I own this road and want to run in the middle of it.
  • I’m aware that my outfit was shockingly pink this morning, and that my sexy runner muscles probably look awesomely intimidating in the moonlight. Go ahead and gape-you’re only human. Just don’t veer towards me in the process.
3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. And drivers please please use those directional signals! I am not a crazy-driver mind reader.

  2. That’s funny…I ran 58 minutes this morning. I had an hour planned (at 8 miles an hour), but I had to pee (the two minutes, obv)…and if I ran the extra two that it took to pee, I would have been late to class, where we always have a quiz first thing. BOO! I am glad you got those two minutes in!

  3. way to turn on the kicks to pass the soldiers 😉 I had a freaky moment on my bike ride last sunday… stupid truck!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

