Daily Run: Doing the New Shoes Happy Dance

September 25, 2008 at 11:32 am | Posted in Daily Run | 4 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: Same same. Maybe a little more humid.

Duration: 1 hour

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 7.91 miles.

Notes: I got my new shoes in the mail yesterday (thanks, Dan!). So, despite the increasing aches and twinges, today’s run was nice and bouncy. I did an hour for the third day in a row, and I can feel the lack of rest, but I never have a bad run on First Day of New Shoes. Today’s pace was steady; no fartlek-style pick-ups or hard hills for me today. I will need to run easy tomorrow if I want to do a long run on Saturday (and I do).

My main “twinge” of the moment is on the top of my right foot, near my toes. It’s very slight, but scaring me because I’m a paranoid runner who doesn’t want to take a single unscheduled day off. It’s not really even a “pain,” just a presence, I guess. I noticed it on Monday. Didn’t hurt during my run Tuesday, but was present afterwards. I iced. Completely disappeared all through Wednesday and this morning, and arrived again after my run today. What is the deal? Comment below and tell me I don’t have a stress fracture.

I’m counting on the new shoes to fix my body. New shoes fix everything. If you currently have a bone fragment sticking through your shin, I recommend new shoes. I will vote for the presidential candidate who offers to buy the economy a new pair of Asics. Seriously. 

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i have had some random foot pains in the past too. one was fixed immediately by new shoes and the other just needed a week of rest (post marathon). i would just keep icing, i try to ice my feet after all my runs just to keep them happy!

  2. Hmmm. I did have a stress fracture there, once. (Not what you want to hear.) It was a bad slash good stress fracture because it never hurt me enough not to run (didn’t fully fracture when I ran but didn’t heal ’til I rested). I doubt you have a stress fracture though because it’s so mild and intermittent. Maybe just some irritation. I agree that new shoes do fix everything. If they don’t, you need a different pair of new shoes. 😉

  3. LOL, that was good 🙂

  4. yay new shoes! there is no greater joy in life than a new pair of shoes….

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

