Strength Training: Fear Makes Lifting Easier

September 25, 2008 at 9:30 pm | Posted in Strength Training | 4 Comments

Time of Day: 5:15 PM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: About 45 min.

Notes: I’m still worried about my foot. Not so much now, because walking around in slippers has made the slight pain go away completely, but I was worried when I headed to the gym after work. The gym was crowded and annoying-they’ve stuck in two new stationary bikes, which is nice for people wanting to use them, but there is simply no room. Anyway, I did my usual workout and I think the fear over my foot increased the adrenalin and made it feel easy. So, at least some good comes out of this.

I did 2 sets of 15 reps of the following arm exercises:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Shoulder press
  • Vertical butterfly
  • Chest press
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep dips/extensions

And:

  • 30 inclined sit-ups holding a 6-lb. medicine ball
  • Home therapy exercises
  • Ultimate Abs core workout (linked in side bar). I’m in the Base week, Phase 2.

Because my foot doesn’t hurt now and because it has yet to hurt when I actually run, I’m going to run in the morning. I may have to reevaluate the situation tomorrow. 😦

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. hows the foot? (and how SORE are you this morning from that weights session? I think my lats would be **sore**)

  2. Here’s hoping the foot felt fine this morning.

    I know what you’re saying about fear/adrenaline helping when I lift. Since I do so during my lunch hour at my work gym, I’m always picturing urgent emails landing in my inbox as I work out. But you know what? I get back to my desk and 95% of the time– nothing. Hope your foot’s the same way– more worry than anything else.

  3. Maybe you should do some cross training for a couple of days like eliptical, bike etc

  4. MizFit: I am a little sore. Foot is about the same.
    tfh: Haha I used to feel that way when I lifted during lunch too.
    Christie: I wish I could cross train and I always recommend that people do so when they are hurting, but the last few times I’ve done this my knee has hurt for days afterwards. Very strange because I used to cross train all the time with lots of success.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

