Daily Run: Not My Last

September 26, 2008 at 11:51 am | Posted in Daily Run, Injury, Literature | 3 Comments

Time of Day: 5:55 AM

Weather: Getting cooler. Portending of good long run/football watching weather

Duration: 40 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 5.27 miles.

Notes: I just had a good experience on the phone with a podiatrist, and now I feel reassured enough to write my blog post. The podiatrist wants me to take naproxin, ice, continue running (!), and call on Monday if it’s worse. He will then rush me in that day. I wish it wasn’t a pleasant surprise to get such good medical service over the phone, but I’m very grateful that it happened. This means that I can do my long run tomorrow, or at least start it. Even better, I don’t have to spend the rest of the day trying to decide if I should run tomorrow. That’s just stressful.

I should take my own advice and not Google my medical symptoms. This caused me to lose sleep last night, worried over the now tens of thousands of injuries/illnesses/diseases that I’m convinced are living in my body and ready to destroy me. After lying in bed sleepless for some time, I remembered that I own Lore of Running by Tim Noakes, MD, and that I’m an idiot for not going straight to that source. I highly recommend this book, by the way. I have the original, but there is now a 4th edition that I am considering buying.

Dr. Noakes assured me that I do not have a stress fracture. He also recommended re-lacing my shoelaces so that they do not cross over the forefoot. So I did, ran 40 minutes this morning, and my foot feels the same, but no worse. The new shoelace situation felt strangely loose at first, but I got used to it and it felt very comfortable by the end of my run. I love you, Dr. Noakes, are you still taking new patients? Are you taking wives?

All things considered, my run felt very nice. I had to remind myself to slow down and save the energy for tomorrow. I hope this is good news. I also hope that my co-workers don’t mind that I just stole all their ice packs and have them on my bare foot.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Woohoo, I’m glad that podiatrist sounds GREAT. My stress fracture happened about eight years ago, so the details are a little unclear, but I’m pretty sure I could feel it while I ran. In fact I’m pretty sure I had a strong “Gee I shouldn’t be running if my foot feels like this” sense on every run. And right now two experts say you don’t have a stress fracture, so this sounds like very good news!

  2. Thanks for responding. I am hopeful 🙂

  3. Good news about the foot! Hopefully it won’t bother you on your long run tomorrow…that could make for a not-so-enjoyable run.
    Enjoy your weekend with MSB!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

