Food for Fuel: Help from Kitchens of India

September 26, 2008 at 12:12 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Product Review, Vegetable Side Dishes | 3 Comments

I had a nice, healthy meal last night…in preparation for lots of cookie dough and brownie batter (more on that later). I cheated on half of the meal, using a product from Kitchens of India that I found at Super Target during the Great Super Target Deal of 2008. It’s called Rajma Masala; a mildly spicy kidney bean dish that comes in a pouch. I heated it in a skillet and added some chopped bell peppers that I needed to use up, as well as a few cooked shrimp.

I made short grain brown rice on the side, and then Middle Eastern Spinach with Spices and Yogurt, a recipe that I found on the New York Times website. In fact, the NY Times has a great healthy recipes repository, and if you prepare and consume all of them you may make up for eating one of their cookies.

The spinach recipe was very good. I didn’t add the garlic to the yogurt, but included some in the actual spinach and then just plopped a little yogurt on top. I also added some baked tofu (which I made two nights ago, but not perfectly enough to consider blog-worthy) and a few kalamata olives.

The Rajma Masala was very filling on its own, so I don’t think I needed to add the shrimp.

Nutrition of this Meal

This will be an approximation. I don’t have the ingredients list of the Rajma Masala. This meal contains 12 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell pepper
  • Garlic
  • Olives
  • Spinach
  • Shrimp
  • Yogurt
  • Kidney beans
  • Tofu
  • Brown rice
  • Cinnamon
  • Cloves
  • Coriander

This Weekend

MSB is coming to town today(!) and tomorrow we will be tailgating and then attending the University of Texas football game. Actual tickets this time! I did a lot of baking last night in preparation of the tailgate, but you will have to wait for those pictures. Try to contain yourselves. I’ll be out and about and may not update until Sunday. The Austin City Limits fest is also this weekend, so just assume that I’m stuck in traffic somewhere, or watching a brawl between the ex-band geek/now hipsters here for ACL and the jocks in town for the game.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. And now I’m going to comment on this post because I LOVE rajma. When I was in India I demanded to learn how to cook it. I like the idea of adding bell peppers! Have a great weekend.

  2. Gah! You can cook this!? It was sooo good and it came from a pouch, so it must be amazing when home-cooked.

  3. Just stay away from my friend Natalie and her posse. They’re the ex-band geeks that you want to watch out for. And they’ll be out tailgating too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

