Daily Run: Weekend of 9/27-9/28/08

September 28, 2008 at 8:29 pm | Posted in Daily Run | Leave a comment

Saturday

Time of Day: 6:35 AM

Weather: On the border of “chilly” when I left the house. Gorgeous. Ready to skyrocket about 25* for football watching.

Duration: 1 hr. 36 min.

Estimated Distance: 12 miles

Notes: The original plan for this week’s long run was 16 miles. This became tentative when my foot began hurting, and by Friday night the plan changed to 12 miles at the most. I went 20 miles last weekend and would like to attempt that again next weekend, and I need to rest my body a little in between. I’m happy with the decision to go 12.

Foot pain continues to be intermittent and odd, but does not hurt when I run. The other foot hurts slightly as well, in the same way. I think this is from doing last week’s 20-miler in worn out shoes, and that the soreness will dissipate now that I have new ones and have laced them differently.

Even though my foot doesn’t hurt when I run, my long run still didn’t feel great. It did, however, feel short, and I never thought 12 miles would feel short. My body is getting tired, and I’m glad that I have a day off tomorrow followed by a reduced mileage week. It’s time.

Sunday

Time of Day: 12:00 Noon

Weather: The kind of weather that makes you say, “Why is it still so hot out? It’s almost October.” And then you realize that you say this every year because you live in Texas.

Duration: 47 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 6.2 miles

Notes: This run went well, but only when you take into account the following factors:

  • I did my long run yesterday and my body was tired
  • I stood up for 4-6 hours with very few sitting breaks while tailgating and watching football
  • I ate like crap the day before
  • I woke up late and didn’t eat breakfast
  • I got dehydrated at the football game and then had plenty of alcohol to dehydrate myself again later
  • I didn’t get enough sleep
  • I couldn’t roll out beforehand
  • I went at noon and it was probably 25* warmer than I’m used to right now

But hey, not too shabby. Because I was in a different part of town than usual, I ran a favorite route of mine that I don’t usually get to do. Also, the heat really didn’t bother me much, it was just more noticeable than usual.

I had a lot of fun this weekend, and every once in a while, that’s more important than training. I enjoyed eating like crap, staying up too late, and drinking too much for one day, and I think that I deserve to do those things now and then. 🙂

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

