Food for Fun: Tailgating Cookies and Brownies

September 29, 2008 at 9:32 am | Posted in Baked Goods, Food, Fun | 5 Comments

You know those weekends when you’re having lots of fun, and then they end and you go to update the ‘ol blog and say, “Why didn’t I take more pictures?” And then you look at the few pictures that you did take and they look like this because you are too short your boyfriend is too tall?

MSB got us tickets to the UT vs. Arkansas football game. This means tailgating and an excuse to bake and eat. I made both cookies and brownies. Exciting times! Both recipes got rave reviews from my fellow tailgaters.

Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Yes, you read the title correctly. I’m going to rename them Everything That Is Good cookies. This was my first time trying this recipe. I picked it for very obvious reasons, and also because this makes a pretty big batch of cookies. The header is a link to the recipe, by the way.

I mixed the dough by hand and only used one bowl (I’m lazy like that). I used part light brown sugar and part dark brown because I ran out of light, but other than that I followed the ingredients precisely.

Oh, except that I used an entire bag of chocolate chips instead of 9 oz. of chunks. So…12 oz. of chocolate instead. 🙂 I used Ghirardelli bittersweet.

Ok, so these were some of the best cookies I’ve ever made. I’m not kidding. The oatmeal and peanut butter also make them nice and sturdy for transporting to a tailgate. I bet they would do well in the mail also. However, they are still soft in the middle and chewy all over. These are the kind of cookies that I can’t stop eating. I had to “accidentally” leave the few leftovers in a friend’s apartment.

King Arthur’s Best Fudge Brownies

Two winning recipes in one weekend! I haven’t made many brownie recipes, but this is definitely the best I’ve tried, and these brownies were perhaps even the best I have ever eaten. They are extremely chocolately, which is exactly how brownies should be, of course

The recipe linked in the header is to Cookie Madness, because I followed Anna’s directions on these brownies. If you want to see the original recipe and a lot of other great recipes, check out the King Arthur Flour website. Like Anna, I used Hershey’s Dark Cocoa.

The batter is very thick. Thus, it is difficult to get it all into the pan without lots of scraping. I suggest that you save yourself the effort of too much scraping and just lick the remainder directly out of the bowl.

As you can see, the Hershey’s Dark Cocoa makes for a very rich, dark chocolate brownie. Those lighter spots are semi-sweet chocolate chips. I am currently regretting that I gave away the leftover brownies as well.

Oh, and Texas beat Arkansas 52-10. More cookies and brownies were eaten in celebration.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yummmm…I love that Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder. It makes everything better.

  2. what better way to celebrate than with cookies and brownies!

  3. Wow, I’d say that was a big win… both with the game and the recipes!

    I’m SO glad you enjoyed that cookie recipe. With all of that stuff in there, it had to be good, right?

    I just got some of that really dark cocoa- actually the black cocoa from KA Flour Co. and I’m anxious to try it out!

  4. Glad the brownies worked out :). The dark chocolate cocoa definitely adds something. They’re good with regular cocoa, but the brownies received more attention when I made them with the dark.

  5. You can never be too tall…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

