Daily Run: Tendinitis?

September 30, 2008 at 12:00 pm | Posted in Daily Run, Injury | 6 Comments

Time of Day: 5:55 AM

Weather: Cool and comfortable. No moonlight, so very dark.

Duration: 46 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 6.07 miles

Notes: This is my reduced mileage week, and this time around I’m reducing more than usual. I just got back from an appointment with a podiatrist, who has prescribed anti-inflammatories, reduced training, compression, and icing. Basically, the RICE method: Rest, Ice, Compress, Elevate. He took x-rays, but does not think that I have a stress fracture. It’s probably tendinitis brought on by increased training and old shoes, and is being aggravated by the new shoes that are still being broken in and are therefore tight. I’m going back on Monday.

He’s leaving the running decision up to me. He recommends cross-training or reduced running. I’m already reducing my running this week, but I think I might cross-train or rest completely tomorrow. Cross-training sometimes hurts my knee. I really want to do a 20-mile long run this weekend, and he says that I can assess that myself later this week. So, goal is to be rested enough for that.

So, the prognosis could be much worse, but this is still annoying me. This morning’s run felt very nice; my body is already recovering because I did less running than usual over the weekend. If my foot would just cooperate, life would be fine and dandy.

But hey, at least it’s probably not a stress fracture. I just hope it goes away quickly.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I would def try some diff cross training.. i swam for a while because that is all i could do… if you are in reduced mileage why would you be doing 20 miles this weekend (just want you to know the question is in a non-judgemental tone, sometimes questions liek that can be perceieved the wrong way, but I am not trying ot be nasty hahh) I hope your foot feels better

  2. I started my reduced mileage week over the weekend by reducing my long run quite significantly. In a perfect world, my reduced mileage week would end on Friday and I would run an awesome 20-miler on Saturday, but I don’t think that’s going to happen 😦

  3. aw, sorry youarent feeling 100%. but thats great its not a stress fracture- those are such a pain.

    new shoes always cause so many problems. my pinkie toe starts acting up every time i get a new pair. i have pretty wide feet o the little guy gets squished.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  4. I had a stress fracture in my pelvis and had to cross train for THREE months. Three months with no running. Can you imagine?? I was a bit of a headcase for a while there…I hope it turns out to just need a little rest and recovery!
    What do you base your “assumed pace” on and why?

  5. http://www.twinksy.wordpress.com

  6. Hope you’ll be able to run soon!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

