Food for Fuel: Chili-Crusted Chicken and Rice Medley

September 30, 2008 at 9:54 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Poultry, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains, Vegetable Side Dishes | Leave a comment

Before I went grocery shopping this weekend, I picked out four recipes to use over the course of the week. All of them include chicken because if I buy a package of it, I need to use it all before it goes to waste. Thus, the blog will be chock full ‘o chicken this week.

Last night I made a recipe from my Pillsbury: Best of the Bake Off cookbook. Unfortunately, this recipe is not also located on their website, and I cannot share it with you for copyright reasons. I have, however, been enjoying this cookbook, and highly recommend this recipe if you have it.

Substitutions: Brown rice and a Green Giant individual frozen broccoli and cheese. The original recipe is for 6 servings, so I scaled it down quite significantly.

This recipe was simple, yummy, and nutritious. On the side, I roasted asparagus, mushrooms, and onion in the oven at 425* for about 15 minutes. I seasoned them with olive oil and Lawry’s Seasoning Salt.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 12¬†ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Asparagus
  • Mushrooms
  • Onion
  • Olive oil
  • Broccoli
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Chicken
  • Brown rice
  • Black beans
  • Cinnamon
  • Cumin
  • Chili pepper

I’ve been reorganizing my Categories in the sidebar to make it easier to look for recipes. I’m not quite finished yet, so please pardon the mess.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

