Food for Fuel: Spicy Broccoli Aioli Pizza

October 1, 2008 at 9:49 am | Posted in Food, Pizza, Poultry | 3 Comments

I am currently preoccupied by the foot situation. Thanks to those of you who commented with well wishes. I will give an update soon.

But first, a pizza recipe. Yesterday was a bad day; luckily, one of my planned recipes for the week was Spicy Broccoli Aioli Pizza from the Pillsbury: Best of the Bake Off cookbook. Pizza tends to increase quality of life.

This recipe is not on the Pillsbury website, but I noticed lots of yummy pizza recipes on there while I was looking for it, so check it out if you need pizza ideas.

The recipe calls for prepared pizza dough, but I used my honey whole wheat crust. I used half the dough and stuck the rest in the freezer. This is the first time I’ve gotten half the dough to stretch across my entire pizza pan–maybe because it was fresh and pliable. It made the dough very thin, almost like a flatbread. I think I prefer it a little thicker.

Here’s a picture of the pie before I topped it with cheese and put it in the oven. Toppings are a spicy Italian vinaigrette, chicken (not included in original recipe), jarred red bell peppers, and broccoli.

I topped the pizza with bagged fat free mozzarella, fresh mozzarella (yum!), and grated parmesan. These cheeses differed from the original recipe, which called for Havarti and parmesan.

It was good, but I probably shouldn’t have cut the ingredients for the vinaigrette in half. I thought my pizza would be too small for the full recipe. It was yummy either way. Also, I have leftovers, and everyone knows that pizza leftovers are the best kind.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 11 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Olive oil
  • Garlic
  • Onion
  • Basil
  • Oregano
  • Thyme
  • Bell pepper
  • Chicken
  • Broccoli
  • Whole wheat
  • Low-fat cheese
3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow these looks wonderful! Yummy! The more capsicum the better! Hope to see more posts! 🙂

  2. Pizza does indeed make life better. Looks good. And your crust definitely sounds better than any old prepared dough.

  3. YUM that looks delicious!!!! i hope the foot continues to get better 😦 sounds SO frustrating!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

