Food for Fuel: Caprese Portabello

October 2, 2008 at 10:15 am | Posted in Food, Vegetable Side Dishes | 2 Comments

Thanks to all of you who commented on my last post. I’ll see the trainer after work tonight.

But first, a sidedish recipe. A very yummy and easy one with gooey amounts of cheese.

I had a portabello mushroom in my crisper that I needed to use before it went bad. So, I combined the following in a small bowl:

  • Chopped shallot (maybe a tablespoon?)
  • Small amount of jarred minced garlic
  • Drizzle of olive oil
  • Dried basil
  • Dried oregano
  • Crushed red pepper

I dipped four Roma tomato slices in the mixture and placed them on top of the portabello cap. I spread the remainder of the mixture on top. I roasted the portabello for about 12 minutes at 425*, and then topped it with fresh mozzarella and parmesan. I put it back in the oven until it achieved melted cheese perfection.

That’s my sidedish plate. I also had a very mediocre soup, which I photographed, but this picture shows the portabello better and that’s really all I’m writing about for this post. I also had asparagus and sweet potato fries. Kind of a random meal.

Question on portabellos: When I roast portabellos, they always have a bunch of liquid in them. I’ll cut into them on my plate and all this juice will rush out. Is there a way to get rid of that?

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good luck with the trainer.

    Asparagus, sweet potatoes, and portabellos are three of my favorite veggies. I definitely get the juice with the portabellos, though– with all mushrooms. It does look kind of brown and unappealing on my plate but usually I slurp it up anyway because I’m that kind of eater.

  2. I think you can salt them like you do eggplant before you cook them. There’s a good chance I’m wrong on that as I’m not known for my cooking prowess!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

