Daily Elliptical? I sure hope not

October 3, 2008 at 2:03 pm | Posted in Injury, Training Method | 6 Comments

Time of Day: 6:00 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: 35 min. elliptical, 10 min. stationary bike, 15 min. elliptical

Notes: Yesterday I met with the sports trainer, hereafter known as Mr. Magic Hands. Mr. Magic Hands played with my foot for a bit and told me that I probably strained the tendons a bit during one of my runs. He wants me to cross-train through the weekend and start running again on Monday (but only 3-3.5 miles). He also told me to stretch out my Achilles a few times a day and gave me some cups to do an ice massage (picutres of that later?). He was so helpful and I felt so much better after talking to him.

Monday can’t come soon enough though. I don’t like this cross-training stuff, but at least I finally got through the September issue of In Style. I’m so behind.

I used to cross-train quite often, but when I injured my knee last year, even the elliptical and bike hurt. I think it might be time to get my body used to the elliptical again, because even though I hate it, I get injured far less frequently when I incorporate cross-training.

I cannot do the stationary bike though. My original plan was to do 35 minutes elliptical and 25 bike, but I could only make it 10 minutes on the bike. It either feels too hard on my quads or feels like it isn’t working at all. Also, it’s even more boring than the elliptical and harder to read a magazine and go fast at the same time.

I’m decently fast on the elliptical and feel that it gives me a good workout. However, my butt hurts now. I’m sure my quads will hate me in the morning.

So, good news on the injury front, but I won’t be completely relieved until I start running again with no pain. I haven’t decided what to do about the 10K in two weeks and the half marathon in one month.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. good news about the foot!!!

    i used to be an ellptical maniac… now i can barely stand 30 min. but like you said its so good to crosstrain. i need to get my butt in there to do some!

  2. I really like the newer stationary UP-RIGHT bikes I do intervals of climbing on them and you can get a good workout I PROMISE!

  3. Just be thankful you caught this early…Last spring, the weekend before my half, I got a sfx and the arch in my right foot collapsed. I didnt get to race obviously and am now slowly making my way back to where I used to be…So it could be A LOT worse.
    I hope you heal quickly 🙂

    Also, you might look into spin classes-way better than doing it alone and it really builds up/maintains leg muscle

  4. Strained tendons sounds better than tendinitis. Hopefully skipping the long run this weekend (sigh) will make the problem go away. I know what you mean about the stationary bike; I’ve read runners should try to keep rpms above 90, but in order to do that AND keep my HR up, I have to use major leg muscles– which I hate and can’t sustain.

  5. I’m glad to hear good news about your foot, although I understand your hesitation to be completely relieved until you can run without pain. I hope that happens.

    And yes, you can most definitely switch out butternut squash for acorn squash! I can’t wait to see what you come up with 🙂

  6. […] Mr. Magic Hands taught me this icing method. It’s brutal, let me tell you. […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

