Food for Fuel: Chicken Biriyani

October 3, 2008 at 11:36 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Poultry, Product Review, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains, Vegetarian Entrees | 2 Comments

Once again, thanks for all the well wishes on the foot. I got good news from the trainer, which I will elaborate upon later. I never thought that an internet community would feel so supportive about something like this, so again, I thank you.

On a completely different note, I made Indian food last night. Well, I made half and my microwave made the other half. My microwave had it easy, because the Tandoor Chef Palak Paneer is delicious in only five minutes! I also had the Tandoor Chef Garlic Naan. I’ve discussed both products before.

I must admit, my half of the meal was pretty easy as well. I made Chicken Biriyani from Cooking Light. I had to scale it down quite a bit, and I really should measure spices a little more accurately when I’m cooking. This was spicy the way I made it! However, it was still delicious.

Sorry about the awful picture. Click on the link to the recipe for a much better one.

I used a small amount of brown rice to use up the rest of a box. I omitted the saffron (wayyy too expensive), the cashews, and the cilantro. The recipe directions say that low-fat yogurt will curdle, but I already had non-fat plain yogurt, risked it anyway, and it turned out just fine. Using instant rice and cooking my chicken on a George Foreman made this recipe even faster. I also added mushrooms.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal (just the Chicken Biriyani) contains 11 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest foods list:

  • Mushrooms
  • Chicken
  • Garlic
  • Onion
  • Brown rice
  • Yogurt
  • Raisins
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Cinnamon
  • Ginger
  • Chili pepper
2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Mmm/wince. I had spinach for dinner last night too, which looked all good and green and spicy, but turned out to be crunchy because I didn’t wash the spinach thoroughly enough. Next time I think I’ll go with Tandoor Chef instead of, er, my Careless Chef self.

  2. that looks great!!! Your meals are just how I like… nutritious but creative! Hope you feelin better!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

