Food for Fuel: Stuffed Acorn Squash and Secret Ingredient

October 4, 2008 at 1:27 pm | Posted in Food, From The Runner's Cookbook, Nutrition, Other, Poultry, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains | 2 Comments

Last night I got out the Runner’s Cookbook yet again to make Michael and Kristi Spence’s recipe for Stuffed Acron Squash. Michael Spence represented the U.S. at the 2007 World Cross Country Championships and Kristi Spence is an Olympic Trials qualifier in the marathon.

I actually just used the Spence’s idea for this recipe and ended up changing it quite a bit. They suggest using the acorn squash as a way to serve pasta, and recommend orzo or making risotto and stuffing it (delicious!). I used Red Incan quinoa.

First, I cut the acorn squash in half and roasted it for an hour at 350*. During this time, I cooked the quinoa, and cooked 1 clove of garlic and a cut-up chicken breast in a skillet. When the chicken was cooked through, I added fresh tomatoes and jarred artichoke hearts for a few minutes.

When the quinoa finished cooking, I added dried basil, oregano, and rosemary, chopped kalamata olives, and melted in a wedge of Laughing Cow cheese. I added the chicken mixture, stirred it all together, and placed as much as I could into half of the acorn squash (saved the other half for another day). I cut up a slice of fresh mozzarella, put it on top of the stuffed acorn squash, and put it back in the oven until the cheese melted.

While the squash was in the oven, I also roasted asparagus, mushrooms, and onions. I seasoned them with olive oil, garlic, and crushed red pepper.

Eating Bender, keeper of this week’s Blogger Secret Ingredient, chose butternut squash as the ingredient, but graciously allowed me to use acorn squash instead because I already had this in my pantry. Yay!

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 14 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Asparagus
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Garlic
  • Olives
  • Winter squash
  • Tomatoes
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Chicken
  • Quinoa
  • Olive oil
  • Basil
  • Oregano
  • Rosemary
2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Holy moly, Jess! This recipe is fantastic! I LOVE that you included Laughing Cow cheese because I try to incorporate it into my savory meals as much as possible 🙂 And 14 of the World’s Healthiest Foods? That is mighty impressive! I’ve added yours to the list – thanks!

  2. […] the way, this recipe of mine has been getting a lot of hits lately. ‘Tis the season for acorn squash? Possibly related […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

