Cross-training: Sunny Sunday Bike Ride

October 5, 2008 at 7:09 pm | Posted in Cross-training, Injury, Training Method | 3 Comments

Time of Day: 9:15 AM

Weather: Sunny and the perfect temperature. Windy enough to be slightly annoying.

Duration: 1 hour 13 minutes

Notes: My gym is closed on Sundays (LAME), so today I got out my bike, dusted off the cobwebs, pumped up the tires, and set off on a beautiful sunny morning. I don’t feel like I get near the cardio workout on my bike that I do on the elliptical, but I was glad for the excuse to exercise outside today. I hate wasting nice weather with an indoor workout.

I tried to maintain a good pace, but I didn’t put pressure on myself to go very fast. I get to try running again tomorrow (!) and I don’t want to be too sore and worn-out from biking. Today’s workout was really just a chance to get outside and do something active.

My foot has made great progress in the last few days. Thanks to all of you who left well wishes. I’m nervous about running tomorrow, even though I’m only going a few miles. I’m hoping that this injury turns out to be only a minor setback to my marathon training. I have my follow-up appointment with the podiatrist tomorrow as well, which is timely because I will have done my first run that morning and we can discuss how it feels.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That’s really lame your gym is closed on Sundays! At least it gives you the chance to switch things up though – if you have to look on the bright side 🙂

  2. What kind of gym is closed on Sunday? Ummm . . . don’t most people work out on their day off of work?

  3. if you run—-go gentle!!

    (and I echo the sunday closing…and the fact my gym used to close on frigging things like MOTHERS DAY?!)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

