Food for Fuel: Aster’s Ethiopian Restaurant

October 5, 2008 at 3:32 pm | Posted in Food, Restaurants | 4 Comments

I like trying different kinds of cuisine, and since I’ve never had Ethiopian food and Haile Gebrselassie broke his world marathon record last weekend, Aster’s was the perfect restaurant for last night’s dinner adventure.

My companions (including Jameson) and I all ordered different dishes (I ordered Doro Wott), but each meal was served on the same giant platter, so we all shared and enjoyed the various flavors.

The food was served with injera, a flat, spongy bread used to scoop up the food instead of utensils. You can see it at the bottom of the platter. It was different than any bread I’ve ever tasted, and so was the food. It was fun to eat with my hands and lick my fingers at the table! I stupidly wore white pants, but I got out safely.

So, now I can check Ethiopian food off my list of ethnic cuisines to try. I’ll still eat it again though, and I recommend that you try too.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i need to try ethiopian again — i tried it once and liked the flavors, but had texture issues with the bread. that was years ago, though, so i should give it another shot!

  2. I had ethiopian food for the first time on Thursday and loved it – glad you did too!

  3. In retrospect, that food looks a lot grosser now than it did at the time. Thank goodness it tasted alright. 😛

  4. […] Sandwiches, Wraps, and Burgers, Vegetable Side Dishes | Tags: German food, Sauce, Turkey I had Ethiopian food on Saturday, Greek food on Sunday, and German food on Monday! Don’t worry, I had a very American bowl of […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

