Daily Run: Demotivating

October 7, 2008 at 1:24 pm | Posted in Daily Run, Injury | 3 Comments

Time of Day: 6:00 AM

Weather: Cloudy, cooler, post-rainstorm weather. Still warm enough to sweat a bit.

Duration: 35 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 4.62 miles

Notes: My foot injury has taken the fun of running away from me. I’m not running through pain, my foot feels better when I run than it does all day, but I’m running through fear, which may be even worse. Every step is taken with caution and every slight twinge creates a panic. I dreaded running today. It was fine and the foot held up well enough, but now I’m icing it and in constant fear that it will get worse instead of better.

Being injured also demotivates me in other aspects of my life. It’s hard to feel professional when I’m walking around the office in my running shoes and smelling like Biofreeze. Hopefully my co-workers will remember the days when I wore nice pants and *gasp* lipstick on occasion and turn a blind eye to the schlumpy, smelly, being who steals their icepacks out of the breakroom freezer and keeps sneaking up the thermostat.

I have been to two stores that carry Sofsoles, the brand of insole that my podiatrist recommends. Neither store had them in my size. I’m irritated. They’re not expensive, so I think I’m going to give them a try if I can find them. Thanks to all of you for the wonderful support and information that you gave me. You’re such a cool set of internet-and-running-addicted people! 😉

Looking on the brighter side: running is so efficient! It only took me 35 minutes to run over 4.5 miles and get a great cardio workout. Any other activity would take so much more time for that kind of workout.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. eeek i know exactly what you mean. running when you are afraid you might hurt is the worst!! sounds like its getting better and hope it continues!

  2. I announced to my husband thats how I know Im old.

    Im afraid to start running MILES as I fear Id hurt my delicateself.

  3. oh yes, i do know how you feel… i’m trying to get out of that run as i’ve taken the easy way out of late


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

