Food for Fuel: Oktoberfest!

October 7, 2008 at 9:59 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Other, Poultry, Sandwiches, Wraps, and Burgers, Vegetable Side Dishes | 5 Comments

I had Ethiopian food on Saturday, Greek food on Sunday, and German food on Monday! Don’t worry, I had a very American bowl of cereal for breakfast this morning…but what will tonight bring? 😉

My parents are currently living in Bavaria, and currywurst is one of the German dishes that I must find every time I visit. Other favorite German cuisines include beer…and other kinds of beer.

So, in honor of Oktoberfest, I made currywurst.

The linked recipe contains a dire mistake: it uses kielbasa instead of bratwurst. Kielbasa is Polish! I went semi-healthy and used Jennie-O Turkey Beer Bratwursts. They were delicious, but much too small. I used two. 🙂

Also, the recipe contains way too much tomato sauce. I just used a little 8 oz. can and then added half of all the spices (and just a little pinch of sugar). I used Louisiana Hot Sauce for the chili sauce. I used quite a bit of paprika and curry powder, so my sauce was very spicy. It made me cough a little, but it was delicious nonetheless.

I put my currywurst in a frozen baguette (oops! not German!) from HEB. This bread is part of their Artisan bread frozen line, and it bakes up perfectly in the oven. It’s also all-natural and I can’t tell that it was ever frozen. Also, from the HEB frozen foods: new potatoes. I’ve had a bag of these in the freezer forever and they are incredibly unspectacular, but I made some tonight and my curry sauce fixed them!

On the side, I had Boar’s Head sauerkraut. It was ok. I had lots of sauerkraut and other cabbage dishes in Germany and loved them, but I haven’t had good sauerkraut since. I also roasted Brussels sprouts using this recipe (option 1), which I have used quite a few times and love. I used Central Market Dijon Mustard.

There was plentiful sauce and it was spicy and delicious. I had to get up for another napkin.

Can you spot the missing component of this meal? I FORGOT TO BUY BEER! A shame; this is such a beer meal. So, make this recipe, serve it with a really good beer, and enjoy. Don’t use Miller. It’s blasphemy against Oktoberfest.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 8 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest foods list:

  • Brussels sprouts
  • Cabbage
  • Potatoes
  • Tomatoes (sauce)
  • Turkey
  • Garlic
  • Mustard seeds
  • Black pepper

Eight ingredients is darn impressive for Oktoberfest, if I do say so myself, even if some of those ingredients are only present in small amounts.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Currywurst without beer is like toast without Marmite (http://discoverunearthed.wordpress.com)! My question is – have you ever bought a ready-made currywurst (in a foodstore I mean) outside of Germany and if so, who’s was it and was it any good??

  2. I have not tried a ready-made currywurst, but I have seen curry ketchup in the small German section at my local grocery. You can also mix curry powder with ketchup for a quick imitation, but I liked the idea of adding hot sauce, paprika, etc.
    Can’t say I’m a fan of marmite!

  3. I love the multiethnic cuisine.

    Maybe if I can convince my parents to move abroad I will be similarly inspired?

  4. You really dominating these ethnic recipes!!! I hope you foot is feeling better today!

  5. i love all of the ethnic cuisine you’ve been having!
    hope you have a wonderful tuesday!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

