Cross-training: Voluntary!?

October 8, 2008 at 12:45 pm | Posted in Cross-training | 8 Comments

Time of Day: 6:00 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: 50 min. elliptical

Notes: Yes, I did the elliptical in lieu of running today. Don’t panic! I did it merely as a protective measure. My foot is healing well. I want this to continue, so I decided to throw in a day of cross-training. I’ll be back to running (in fear) tomorrow.

I had a really good workout today. I find that mixing it up on the elliptical by going backwards sometimes and throwing in a few sprint intervals makes it less boring. Also, doing intervals makes me tired. I was sweaty and shakey when I finished–excellent!

The elliptical has a history of hurting my knee, which is why I’ve shied away from using it. It tightens up my IT band and makes the outside edge of my knee hurt. Since hurting my foot, I’ve only had a little tightness from the elliptical. I think I have the prescription anti-inflammatories to thank.

If my knee allows, I may suck up the boredom and the drive to the gym and use the elliptical once or twice a week, even after my foot is better. Less impact = good for Jess.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Have you ever tried spinning… i feel like you get a good rush with that too… nothing compared to running but great workout and great cross training!

  2. I have tried spinning. I love it, but it’s even worse on my knee.

  3. I would never cross-train if I weren’t prone to injury. I try to do it twice a week these days but my problem is, I get bored so quickly. How is it that I can enjoy two hours straight of running and not be able to take my eyes off the timer on the elliptical? Good for you for not only doing it but also pushing yourself– which I find tough on the elliptical, for some reason. How many strides per minute do you go for on your speed intervals?

  4. I know the feeling. I need a magazine and my ipod for the elliptical, and I’m still bored. I don’t even need music when I run outside. I get up between 260-270 on the speed intervals, but it depends on the elliptical machine and which resistance, etc.

  5. That’s interesting because I’ve always heard the elliptical is easier on your joints. Have a good night.

  6. in awe o’the crosstrainingness.

    please to come HERE and prod me on as well.

  7. You might think this story is pretty cool Scac!

    http://www.cnn.com/2008/LIVING/04/02/heroes.mahlum/index.html

  8. Hangry Pants: Elliptical is much easier on your joints, but it tightens up my IT band, which in turn pulls on my knee and makes it hurt.
    Jameson: Thanks. I enjoy the CNN Heroes series. Good story.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

