Daily Run: A Real One This Time

October 9, 2008 at 11:20 am | Posted in Daily Run | 3 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: Cool. Lots of stars but very dark.

Duration: 50 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 6.59 miles

Notes: *Sigh* A real run. Finally. And it felt so, so good. I probably went too fast and maybe too far, but my legs are so rested from all these easy days. My foot didn’t hurt. It hurts now, but no worse than it did yesterday, so I think/hope that all is still going well. I’m going to see Mr. Magic Hands this evening. In a perfect world, he would sit me on his table, hand me a Cadbury’s Egg to keep me occupied, wiggle my foot around, declare Crisis Averted, pull out those Sofsoles arch supports that I can’t find out from under the table and give them to me for free, and tell me to go run 100 miles. I’ll be happy with Crisis Averted, but we’ll see.

My goodness it’s getting dark out there! I have to be careful where I’m putting my feet now. I almost fell twice this morning. It was still dark when I got home, with only a tiny bit of light creeping up at the horizon. No more beautiful, pink sunrise. That happens while I’m in the shower now. The temperature is also dipping-it’s been in the low-to-mid 50s in the mornings (mid-80s in the afternoons!), cold by Texas standards but perfect running weather by Jess standards.

In running related news, Jameson called my attention to this CNN Hero. It’s a worthy cause and an interesting story–the last two sentences really resonate. It’s short, so give it a minute.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Unhappy with the insoles I recently got (not miraculous as I had hoped) I’ve been looking around and noticed that the Roadrunner Sports brand says “Sofsoles” on the soles. Do you have a RRS around? I suspect they just package Sofsoles under their name. Good luck w/ Mr MH!

  2. i love the fall weather but i hate the short days 😦

    glad the foot is continuing to do better!! hope it stays that way!

  3. tfh: I don’t have a RRS, but they sell the insoles on their website. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

