Food for Fuel: Stewed Peppers and Scrambled Eggs

October 9, 2008 at 10:13 am | Posted in Food, Vegetable Side Dishes, Vegetarian Entrees | Leave a comment

Last night I tried a great new recipe that I found on the New York Times website. Ironically, I discoved the NY Times Recipes for Health section during my quest for the perfect chocolate chip cookie. They’ve got some good stuff in there!

Last night I made Stewed Peppers with Tomatoes, Onions, and Garlic. I used one red bell pepper and half of a green bell pepper. The Times includes two other varieties in the recipe, which also look great. I made half the original recipe and added crushed red pepper at the end to give it a little more heat. Half the original recipe was still too much, but now I have leftovers for another day.

I took their suggestion and served this with scrambled eggs, using one whole egg and two egg whites. I put the mixture in and around the other half of the acorn squash that I roasted last week. I also used up the rest of my dolmas. Yay for using up and generating more leftovers!

Also, I thought this recipe was just screaming for feta, so I added a bunch.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 11 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell pepper
  • Garlic
  • Onion
  • Tomato
  • Eggs
  • Winter squash
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Olive oil
  • Brown rice (dolmas)
  • Dill (dolmas)
  • Thyme
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

