Foot Update and Strength Training

October 10, 2008 at 9:40 am | Posted in Injury, Product Review, Strength Training | 2 Comments

Yesterday after work I drove to my alma mater to talk to Mr. Magic Hands. He was very pleased with the progress of my foot, and while he did not hand me a Cadbury’s Egg and tell me to go run 100 miles, he did tell me that I could do 10-12 on Saturday and that my planned 10K race for next weekend is an excellent idea. I expressed concern about having done only one 20-miler thus far and that I have limited weekends to do more because of the two races that I have scheduled before the marathon. Mr. Magic Hands told me that as long as I have completed one 20-miler, I should be fine. In fact, he said it might be better this way because my body won’t be as broken down. It was a huge relief to hear this; I’ll just try to get in one more 20-miler in a few weeks.

I asked Mr. Magic Hands about insoles, and he recommended Dr. Scholl’s Sport. He says he likes them better than his own custom orthotics. I picked some up at CVS on the way home. I’ve used them before and they do provide some nice cushioning. If they don’t do the trick I’ll buy the Sofsoles online.

Note: When buying full-length insoles, remove the insoles that come with your shoes before putting them in. For half-length arch support insoles, leave the shoe insoles in.

Strength Training

After talking to Mr. Magic Hands, I lifted weights in my alma mater’s small weightroom, conveniently located in the same building. I’m a little sore today from using different machines and a few different exercises. I did 2 sets of 15 reps of the following:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Chest press
  • Bicep curls
  • Fly
  • Lat rows
  • Shoulder press
  • Assisted dip

I also did:

  • 30 inclined situps with a 5 lb. weight
  • 25 back extensions
  • Turkish Get-ups (from Ultimate Abs)
  • Abs on the Captain’s Chair
  • Dumbell Walkouts (from Ultimate Abs)
  • Pods and Hip Hikes

I only graduated a few years ago, but all the students looked so young to me! And they seemed so immature and naive (freshman?). I guess you can change a lot in a few years.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That’s good news! Enjoy your “long run” this weekend. (Compared to 20 miles, it must seem short, but very, very exciting after being restricted mileage-wise.)

    And thanks for the Dr Scholl’s tip– let us know how they work. I am still looking for the Perfect Insole as I do not feel any difference with the current ones from the shoes’ own insole.

  2. yay thats good news!! i hope the insoles work out.

    which marathon are you training for?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

