Daily Run: Target Practice

October 11, 2008 at 5:31 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 6 Comments

Time of Day: 7:35 AM

Weather: Humid but light!

Duration: 1 hour 23 minutes

Estimated Distance: 10.75 miles

Notes: If you were running around the Rice campus this morning, you were actually running in a race. Only you didn’t know. And you sure didn’t win.

Because you see, I rarely see other runners when I run at home. It’s far too early and everyone else is far too sane. So when I get up a little later and run in a popular urban exercise area, I get to play a little game I like to call Target Practice. It’s fairly simple: I see someone, I pass them.

So if a short girl in a sea green tank top sped by you today, don’t feel bad, you didn’t know we were racing. If I was going especially fast, then good job, you made me pick up my pace, you almost-worthy nemesis you.

It’s a good thing that Mr. Magic Hands told me to run only 10-12 miles today, because I got tired after a little Target Practice and I think 20 miles would have been deadly. I like the Dr. Scholl’s insoles, by the way. They give my shoes that brand new springy feeling.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. hhahah that is too funny!

    Glad you got a long one in I can only imagine how great you felt!

  2. Hey, I’m planning on running over to/around Rice tomorrow as part of my long run! I’d never ran over there really until a couple of weeks ago and I realized my average mile time was a little faster than usual. I think it has to do with all the people that run around there and I feel like I have to go faster!

  3. Oh, I also meant to say that I’m glad your foot is feeling better! You’ll be back on schedule for your marathon in no time!

  4. Justy2003: I was there again today. Maybe I saw you. That would have been pretty cool!

  5. haha, i like that 🙂

  6. […] I’m leaving right after work to visit him for the weekend. I will try not to play too much Target Practice because that is probably a bad idea on a 2 hour run. Please keep my Achilles, left knee, and both […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

