Food for Fun: Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

October 12, 2008 at 4:03 pm | Posted in Baked Goods, Food | Leave a comment

I can’t upload my new pictures until I get home from MSB Town, but luckily I already had these uploaded to keep you entertained in the meantime.

A few months ago, I made Baked Oatmeal Snack Bars for MSB so that he would have a healthy, portable snack to take on his long study sessions. I love these snack bars without any added sugar, but put some chocolate chips in his because I didn’t think zero sweetness would fly. A few weeks ago when he came to Austin, we had this discussion:

Jess: Do you need more snack bars?

MSB: No! No more snack bars!

Jess: …Do you not like them? I put chocolate chips in them for you!

MSB: Yeah…those are my favorite part.

Jess: Well I figured if I put any more sugar in them then I might as well just bake cookies.

MSB: So just bake cookies.

Touche, MSB, touche.

Luckily for MSB, I’d rather bake cookies any day. Snack bars, while yummy, lack a delicious dough filled with sugar, butter, and chocolate chips. What’s the point in baking if there’s no bowl to lick? So, I got out my list of recipes to be tested, and picked this one. MSB likes simple cookies with lots of dough, and this recipe looked appropriate.

The title tells it all: this recipe makes big, fat, chewy chocolate chip cookies. The consistency is perfect for huge cookies–sturdy but still soft enough to be chewy. I made them using one bowl.

These cookies are very, very good, especially warmed up and covered in Blue Bell ice cream, as we discovered last night. They are not the absolute best cookies that I’ve ever had, and therefore my quest continues, but they are still worth making and consuming with relish. The dough was a little too sweet for me, but that’s probably a good thing because it kept me from eating it until I got sick.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

