Daily Run: Warm Thoughts of Oatmeal

October 16, 2008 at 11:33 am | Posted in Daily Run | 5 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: MUCH cooler. Windy. Drizzly.

Duration: 40 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 5.27 miles

Notes: Yesterday the rain refreshed me on a warm and humid run. Today, however, was probably close to 20* colder. It wasn’t quite raining, just sprinkly, but there were times when the wind was driving the cold wetness into my face and I found myself thinking about a steamy shower followed by hot coffee and oatmeal. I had plenty of time for those things after running only 40 minutes. I’ll be setting my alarm a little later for tomorrow morning(!!) as my slight taper to the IBM Classic continues.

Cold weather always makes me want to run faster. I think my body is subconsciously trying to warm itself up. I had to remind myself to take it easy today and save the speed for Sunday. Anyone else racing this weekend?

No skunk sightings, thank goodness.

I’m sorry-I’m boring today. I think I have Writer’s Block. Feel free to discuss the debate amongst yourselves instead of wasting time on me today. I semi-enjoyed the debate, but this is not a politics blog, so I’ll leave it at that and change the subject. I’m lifting weights after work and almost looking forward to it. How strange.

Until then.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m racing Sunday, but mostly for fun (it’s a trail race). I enjoyed the debate last night. I thought it was the best moderated thus far and I even laughed a few times. I’m hoping Joe the Plumber is going to capitalize off this whole thing with a People magazine cover at the very least.

  2. I’m racing this weekend! First one ever. Just a little 5k. After seeing how it goes I may sign up for a couple of 10k’s coming up in November and December. This is assuming the hip pain I’m having (IT band??) goes away soon.

  3. SOOOOO many racers this weekend!! GOOD LUCK!

  4. Good luck to both of you! Let me know how it goes. Justy2003: That’s really exciting that it’s your first one. Road races are so fun!

  5. I am racing Sunday too!! Half-marathon Sunday morning! Yay! Good luck to you all!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

