Food for Fuel: Garlic Chicken and Lentil Dal

October 16, 2008 at 9:19 am | Posted in Food, Other, Poultry, Vegetable Side Dishes, Vegetarian Entrees | 6 Comments

Last night I decided to attempt the Blogger Secret Ingredient: lentils, as mandated by Tri to Cook. I’ve made cooked with lentils maybe…one time before last night and didn’t like the recipe I used last time, so I looked up a new one. I chose Lentil Dal with Garlic-and-Cumin Infused Oil. Doesn’t that sound fancy? I think it’s the word “Infused.”  

I used red lentils and had to omit the cilantro because I didn’t have any. I also did not have cumin seeds, but used regular ground cumin.

I decided to use the dal as a side dish to Garlic Chicken, a recipe that I’ve made before in my pre-blog era and that I remember liking. Also, I needed to use up the last bit of chicken in my freezer. I tore up some fresh mint to garnish the top.

If you plan correctly, this meal takes hardly any time at all to prepare (except that the chicken is marinaded overnight, which is where the planning ahead takes place). I served the chicken on a bed of baby spinach and cucumbers and had a Tandoor Chef naan on the side.

I really like this chicken recipe, but the dal was pretty meh. Maybe omitting the cilantro made a huge difference? The cumin seeds? Maybe I just don’t like lentils very much. I think next time I try cooking with them I’ll use a recipe that keeps them a little firmer.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 13 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Cucumbers
  • Garlic
  • Spinach
  • Tomatoes
  • Lemon
  • Yogurt
  • Chicken
  • Lentils
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Cumin
  • Cinnamon
  • Turmeric
  • Parsley
6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. wow- its like the healthiest meal ever made. and it looks so good!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  2. That looks yummy. I don’t cook with lentils ever so should give that a try.

  3. never eaten dal.

    must drag Ren Man out for indian food.
    whats that you say? I could cook?

    huh?

    caint hear you?!

  4. i’m making lentils tonight too!

  5. “mandated”–haha, you make me sound like a drill sargent!!

    sorry the dal wasn’t a star… i hear they tend to get mushy when overcooked, but maybe it’s easier to do w/the red ones (less protein??)… sorry no help here I’ve been meaning to try a dal tho!

  6. […] meal! I couldn’t finish it all, but Tandoor Chef definitely makes a better lentil dal than I do, and this one can be […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

