Food for Fuel: Baked Tofu and Soba Noodles

October 17, 2008 at 11:58 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pasta, Tofu, Vegetarian Entrees | 7 Comments

I made a great one-bowl dinner last night. I also successfully incorporated tofu into a meal and actually enjoyed it AND I tried soba noodles for the first time. Did I mention that my meal was delicious? Did I mention how much I rule?

Anyway, I bought Annie Chun’s Soba Noodles last time I went grocery shopping. There’s a yummy-looking recipe on the side of the box, and I modified it to my own liking/convenience. I also discovered that soba noodles only take 4-5 minutes to cook once you get the water boiling. Nice.

So apparently the secret to making tofu taste good is to bake it. I know most people recommend extra firm tofu, but I used medium firm and liked it just fine. I cut the block into seven sections and liberally sprayed both sides of each section with Smart Balance cooking spray so that they would get a little crunchy on the outsides. I baked for 30 minutes at 425*, flipping halfway.

I used three slices for this recipe (removed from baking sheet before remembering to take photo).

I bought frozen edamame, which I heated in a skillet, shelled, and set aside. Then I added veggies from two different frozen Asian blends to the skillet. After they were no longer frozen, I added mushrooms, bean sprouts, the edamame, and green onions.

In the meantime, I mixed up a sauce:

  • All the sesame oil I had left, which was maybe 1/4 TB. I filled the rest of the tablespoon measure with stir fry sauce.
  • < 1 TB rice vinegar
  • 1 TB soy sauce
  • < 1 TB mirin
  • A little minced ginger

I combined the cooked noodles, tofu, veggies, and sauce in a bowl and topped them with sesame seeds. So good, and if you already had baked tofu on hand, this would be super fast.

Nutrition of this Meal

I’ll do my best at this, but I don’t remember all the veggies in the frozen blends. This meal contains 10 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell peppers
  • Green peas
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Soybeans
  • Tofu
  • Sesame seeds
  • Buckwheat
  • Ginger
  • Soy sauce
7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I really like soba noodles. But I am a bad vegetarian because I have NEVER baked tofu. It looks easy enough. I vow to try it.

    Good luck in your race! Hope the foot feels fine first and foremost, but after that have fun and run a great “just one” race.

  2. I never knew soba noodles would be so easy to make! I need to find them. Where did you get yours? I could prolly Google hmm…

  3. I found it in the Asian section of my grocery store. Annie Chun’s is fairly easy to find. I think I’ve seen the brand at Super Target as well.

  4. […] also added the remainder of my baked tofu and green […]

  5. […] used my Annie Chun’s Soba Noodles, and frozen Bamboo Blend Garden Vegetables in addition to the other vegetables called for in the […]

  6. I found your blog looking for soba and baked tofu salad recipes. I tried this tonight and it was great! Thanks!

  7. […] eating Chinese food. I think my dinner was to blame. Last night’s dinner looked a lot like this one, but the sauce is different and it has a catchier name, so I will share it anyway. Last night I […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

