Daily Run: The Morning Before

October 18, 2008 at 11:17 am | Posted in Daily Run, Racing | 8 Comments

Time of Day: 6:30 AM

Weather: Clear and kinda cold

Duration: 22 min.

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 8:00/mile): 2.75 miles

Notes: I know a lot of people don’t like to run the day before a race, but I like to do a couple easy miles and then follow with a lot of stretching. Doing a slow run and feeling like I could do a lot more and go a lot faster makes me confident and antsy to race the next day.

I picked up my race packet yesterday afternoon. Nice job, IBM!

Check out all the race swag! The bag itself (bottom of it in the back) is reusable, and contained a water bottle, pens/markers/highlighters, various coupons, a magnet clip, arm band, Purell, Biofreeze samples (!!), a Snicker’s Marathon Energy bar, some weird coconut energy drink (eww), race bib, map, and a t-shirt (to be worn AFTER the race, people, not before, and certainly not during). I think I’m going to try the Snickers before the race.

The best swag of the bunch? A coupon for $20 off a $50 purchase at Bettysport. Yes!

Inspiration

After my short little run, I went to Southwestern University’s (my alma mater) cross-country invitational. Watching others race makes me excited for tomorrow. My ex-coach saw me and immediately put me to work ushering runners through the finish shoot.

Check out that sky! It was a beautiful morning and tomorrow will be too.  

Mr. Magic Hands told me not to worry too much about my foot, and that sometimes the pain can flare up a little right after switching to insoles, but that it will probably go away. It does seem better today.

The rest of my day will be spent stretching, icing, resting, and getting excited!

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. YAYYYY!!! ahhh!!! are you so excited/nervous?! gooooood luckkkkk!!!!! go get ’em! 🙂

  2. good luck, lady!

  3. good luck! and i always run about 2-3 easy miles before my races…!! and love the goods in the bag!

  4. Oh, fun goodie bag! I got my first one today at the 5k! 🙂 All went well and I’ll definitely be signing up for more races in the future! My goal was to just finish in under 30 minutes (I’m a slow runner 😉 ) and I finished at 28:59, so I was satisfied with that!
    I’m planning to check in with a doctor before I sign up for the anticipated 10k’s I’d planned on though. My left hip and shin have been giving me some pain lately and I just wanna make sure it’s nothing serious. Boo, injuries!
    Good luck tomorrow! Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  5. just wanted to say good luck 🙂 and enjoy the run!!!

  6. Thanks everyone!

    Justy2003: Good job! You met your goal by over a minute! Good idea about seeing a doc. Hope all goes well with that.

  7. good luck!!!

  8. […] race reports from all of you who raced this weekend! Good job, Justy2003 (read her report in the comments section). Now that I’ve collapsed for several hours, had about four cups of coffee, and am recovered […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

