Food for Fuel: Prosciutto and Veggie Pizza

October 20, 2008 at 9:12 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pizza | 8 Comments

I love making pizza. I guess that’s why I have an entire blog category dedicated to it. Yesterday I took some frozen homemade dough out of the freezer before I went grocery shopping. I knew that I wanted to include lots of veggies on my pizza and tossed a few extra into my cart. And then I thought, “Prosciutto!” and threw that in as well. 🙂

Each pizza I make is a little different. This time I brushed the crust with a little olive oil and then layered on:

  • Baby spinach (lots)
  • Fresh tomatoes (lots)
  • Onions
  • Dried basil (lots)
  • Dried oregano
  • Crushed red pepper
  • Zucchini
  • Mushrooms
  • Sundried tomatoes
  • Prosciutto

I meant to use minced garlic as well, but forgot. Here’s a picture of the toppings before I covered them in cheese.

I used three kinds of cheese: bagged fat-free mozzarella, fresh mozzarella, freshly grated parmesan.

I baked at 450* for about 20 minutes. After about 8 minutes, I decided to add some pepperoncini peppers.

This was so good! I love prosciutto as a pizza topping. It gets slightly crispy as the pizza cooks. Also, it’s fairly lean but still contains lots of flavor. Next time I’ll try to remember to put the onions near the top so that they can get crispy too.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 11 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Mushrooms
  • Tomatoes
  • Summer squash
  • Spinach
  • Onions
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Olive oil
  • Whole wheat
  • Basil
  • Oregano
  • Dried chili pepper
8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Spinach looks great, wholemeal base looks great – all in all this looks great! I agree with the use of proscuitto crudo, it is a great flavour and a nice bit of saltiness if you are using fresh tomatoes rather than a paste with salt in. With toppings like this the humble pizza is not so humble!

    p.s. my mate’s kids love decorating pizzas, they’ll eat all sorts of healthy stuff when they have chosen it (mainly for the colours!) themselves and made it in to a pattern!

  2. Oh, how I miss proscuitto.

    And. I just read your race report. Great job! You definitely deserve a better prize, though. Couldn’t they just have given you a computer? (Oh, and I’m DEFINITELY intimidated when I see a runner in an old cross-country T-shirt, but I also give myself extra points when I pass a runner wearing a T-shirt from another race, esp. if it was a marathon or HM.)

  3. That looks delicious. I have to go to the grocery store later so will have to buy myself a crust. I would make my own, but I hate cooking so I’ll just look for a somewhat healthy crust 🙂

  4. Wow, this looks delicious! I love fresh mozz on pizza!

    Oh, and the coconut milk was like vita coco or something. I really have no interest in drinking it, but thought baking it or cooking it might be fun.

  5. Heaven! Do you think I could sub SD tomatoes for fresh?

  6. Erin: I actually included sundried tomatoes in this as well, so I’m sure you could! You can pretty much put anything on pizza 🙂

  7. i made this pizza last night! delicious! thanks for the awesome recipe!

    quick question… i froze half of the dough from that honey wheat recipe. how should i defrost it so that it is still fresh and easy to roll out?

  8. bamarunner: I must admit, the dough is not as easy to roll out the second time. I try to remember to move it to my fridge the night before I want to make it so that it has lots of time to thaw. I have actually microwaved it with success, just keep an eye on it.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

