Food for Fuel: Easy Veggie Stir Fry

October 23, 2008 at 9:26 am | Posted in Food, Other, Product Review, Tofu, Vegetable Side Dishes, Vegetarian Entrees | 7 Comments

I had to make an emergency trip to Whole Paycheck yesterday. Not because I needed groceries, but because I had a really good $5 coupon expiring that day. Five dollars of free food? Yes please. So, I stocked up on fancy stuff that my normal grocery store doesn’t have, like Oikos yogurt, different Z Bar flavors, and Tandoor Chef products (my store has a much more limited selection of the awesomest frozen food line ever).

I also wanted to pick up something for dinner, was torn between soup and sushi, and eventually picked a poached salmon sushi roll. And then I exited the store and an entire cold front had blown in during the short time that I was inside, and I immediately regretted not getting soup. Oh well.

Just a side note, but does every Whole Paycheck have such nice employees, or is this one just an anomaly? I have never been treated so well at the cash register in my entire life. Good job, Gateway Plaza Whole Foods (I’ll go ahead and call it by its real name since they were so nice to me).

Oh, on with the dinner saga…

I can’t afford to actually fill myself up with sushi, so I will buy one roll and then make a side dish of veggie stir fry. I buy frozen blends for a quick fix. I used a mix of three different kinds: HEB Select Edamame Asian Blend, HEB Select Bamboo Garden Blend, and Birdseye Pepper Stir Fry. Sorry, you can only get the HEB kind in Texas (at HEB grocery stores, but of course).

I also added the remainder of my baked tofu and green onions.

Of course, frozen veggies need to be seasoned somehow, so I whipped up a stir fry sauce of the following:

  • Rice vinegar
  • Classic stir fry sauce
  • Minced ginger
  • Honey
  • Reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • Chili garlic sauce (Very spicy. Use according to taste.)
  • Sesame seeds

I made way too much, so I won’t include the measurements. Don’t add too much to the skillet if you want to keep your veggies nice and crispy.

And now my sushi dinner is complete, and much cheaper! This was my first time having the Whole Foods sushi and I loved it. I especially liked that they had brown rice options. Also, they didn’t skimp on the salmon and avocado.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Whole Paycheck? That’s a peculiar name.

    That reminds me. I have a coupon somewhere too for $5 at Whole Foods. Hope it hasn’t expired yet…

  2. Mamba sprouts coupons?!?! There should be a new flyer out with MORE clif z-nectar-protein-etc bar savings, and more Oikos coupons, plus some amazing looking spring rolls I want to hunt down. OMG I am a fiend for couponds. Glad to know I’m not the only one!! 🙂

  3. omg i did the same thing!!! and in my effort to make it to 25 i made it to 50… oops 🙂 dinner looks fantastic!

  4. HA! I did the emergency trip to use my coupon yesterday, too– I had printed out a bunch of coupons and MEANT to buy the staples in $25 increments (sticking it to the WF man) but of course I ended up saving $5 on a single $100+ bill. Crappo.

  5. ahaha “Whole Paycheck” I love it!! So true too… every time I go into Whole Foods I find myself going “oooh I want some of those, and those and those” and pretty soon my wallet’s empty. I was just in yesterday and saw the Ostrich eggs on sale for $49.99 each, but was looking at the quail eggs instead and couldn’t figure out what was so special about a little egg. Then my bf pointed to the watermelon sized eggs and pointed out that an ostrich is a very LARGE bird. Duh!

  6. No way, they sell ostrich eggs!? What do you even do with one of those?

    And I managed to walk out of Whole Paycheck with a bill of less than $25 after the coupon was applied. Go me!

  7. […] it’s highly rated on Allrecipes and very quick, so I made it anyway and included lots of frozen blended veggies. I added a little extra crushed red pepper because I like spice in my stir fries. It was […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

