Food for Fuel: Shrimp Enchiladas Verdes

October 24, 2008 at 9:25 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Other, Sandwiches, Wraps, and Burgers, Seafood | 5 Comments

One of my tips in yesterday’s post was to learn to make the foods you like healthier. I used Mexican (Tex-Mex, Southwestern, whatever you want to call it) food as an example. Enchiladas are delicious, but most restaurants prepare them with approximately eight buckets of saturated fat. Per enchilada. And while the enchiladas I made last night did not taste like most restaurant enchiladas, they were still good and allowed me to get up and go running this morning instead of dying of a heart attack in my sleep.

First, I chopped my veggies and combined the following in a bowl:

  • Cooked frozen shrimp (thawed)
  • Green bell pepper
  • Onion
  • Mushrooms
  • Jalapeno pepper
  • Mexicorn (canned corn with bell pepper mixed in)
  • Few scoops of canned green enchilada sauce (I used HEB brand)

Because I was cooking for one, I used a bread pan. I spread a thin layer of enchilada sauce along the bottom, covered it with one La Tortilla Factory whole wheat tortilla, covered the tortilla with a layer of El Paso vegetarian refried beans (the non-fat kind), poured in the shrimp mixture, covered with another tortilla, and spread more enchilada sauce on top. I covered the pan with foil and baked for 20 minutes at 425*.

After 20 minutes, I removed the foil and spread on a layer of olives and reduced-fat Mexican blend cheese. I put it back in (uncovered) for another 6-7 minutes.

A bread pan makes it easy to make enchiladas for one person:

Topped with fresh cilantro:

Mexican food craving satisfied.

Nutrition of this Meal:

This meal contains 9 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell pepper
  • Onion
  • Mushrooms
  • Olives
  • Shrimp
  • Pinto beans
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Whole wheat
  • Cilantro
5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. that looks pretty good.

  2. Mmm!!!! Do you cook every night? What do you do for lunches at work? I’ve got the bfast-lunch thing covered. I “grocery shop for work” b/c I eat both breakfast and lunch there. I keep stuff in the fridge, freezer, and my cube cupboards. Works out really well. Now maybe I should start cooking dinners 🙂 Usually it’s just frozen veggies mixed microwaved and then put with some sort of “meat” (fish, beans, veggie burger) and some sort of “carb” (pasta, bread)… how do you plan what to buy for groceries? do you plan your meals ahead? I end up at the store like 3x a week… and that is NOT economical.

  3. Looks good! Using the breadpan is a good idea– I wouldn’t have thought of that, but can definitely use it since this is the kind of thing I would love but husband wouldn’t touch.

  4. I love the idea of a breadpan… I always stray away from making stuff like that myself and usually just order a portion for one from the healthy mexican place nearby when I have a craving. That’s such a good idea though – plus the ingredients are all fantastic.

  5. Lacey: I cook on most nights. I try to go grocery shopping just once a week, and I usually pick 3-5 recipes and shop for those, plus I have stuff like veggie burgers, frozen Indian food, canned stuff, pasta, all stocked for the other nights so that I can just come up with things. A lot of my meals are veggies, a carb, and a meat as well. Lunches are usually either a) leftovers, b) a frozen meal, c) canned soup, d) a sandwich. I always have sides like salad, veggies, yogurt, fruit, etc.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

